Creating your own Spreadsheets using the Poloniex API

in #technology7 years ago

In my previous post I mentioned that I started trading using various exchanges. I am still enjoying every second, but as a programmer I always want to automate as much as possible.


Image Credit

Creating a Bot for trading

This is my ultimate goal, but I am still VERY far from trusting my hard earned crypto in the hands of a bot. For now my main goal is to understand the various trading strategies. Thank you very much to all the comments on my previous post and a special thanks to my new friend @jlcrypto for pointing out the scalping trade strategy. I have tried it a few times, but has not made the 5% in 30 minutes as I am hoping to. I must say that all the trades except in did make decent profit in the end, except for 1 trade, which I am now holding till it recovers past the buy point.

I will eventually create my own bot when I understand the various strategies in more detail.


Image Credit

Spreadsheets and Spreadsheets and Spreadsheets :)

The first thing I want to do is understand if I am actually making money in the end, so I created a few spreadsheets, which I am tracking various key stats and my trading. I would love it the long term traders can share some of their thoughts on what works for them and even better I would love if you could share the sheets which you are using. I am a firm believer in sharing my learnings and would appreciate some assistance. I might be tracking the wrong stats and information. My sheets are very manual at the moment, and I stated above, I love to automate as much as possible. May be not to trading level yet, but my first aim is to just get the price feeds and other key information from the exchanges I am using.


Image Credit

My first point of call as usual was Google, and I immediately found an amazing sight, which assists to get information into a spreadsheet using the Poloniex API. I have not started to use the site it yet, but I think many will find this usefull and I decided to share the link in my post.

You can visit the site Creating your own spreadsheets and charts using the Poloniex API here

Please feel free to share tips and have a conversation in the comment section of this post. Thank you and good luck to all the traders out there.

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

Thank you so much!

I love spreadsheets, all things Excel and excel automation. Are you using Excels power tools? (power query, power pivot and power view)

I have extensive knowledge of this, not long ago I did a video on connecting Excel to coinmarket cap for both live and historic data. you might find the video useful

It is interesting 😺

wow i hope this works for you :)

oh wow never knew about this looks cool :)

Very interesting project. I like your post. Thanks for sharing

bots and what not are all a bit technical for me, I'm going to get a good grip on traditional pattern reading and a few of the analyst tools first. What is scalping?

Hey @monkemachine, I think it is best to check out this website for some introductions to Scalping. You should also follow @cryptopassion and read his posts as he gives a lot of tips on the various strategies. I have learnt a lot from reading a lot.

viewed, voted, commented, and re-steemed ...

anyone follows me i'll follow back within a few days

I would love to pull data automatically into my spreadsheets. Would save me a lot of time. Going to look into the API 'how-to' link.

This is nuts !
Thanks for sharing though

Nuts? I thought Bots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79