Hello Fellow Steemians From Around The Globe

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

Hello Fellow Steemians

My name is Ijaz (however most people call me Jaz, Jazzy Jeff or in some cases, albeit very strangely, Giles). Having heard about this awesome platform from a friend and Steemit evangelist, Cuttie1979, I decided to create an account.

I will be sharing content regularly about my thoughts, experiences and interests and hope to connect with and learn from like minded Steemians.

So, Who am I?

To give you a quick intro, I am a 25 year old Biomedical Sciences Graduate, with a strong passion for all things tech and travel. I was born in Lahore (Pakistan), raised in London (2 Years) and Doncaster (17 Years), studied at Newcastle University, and am now back in “GODS OWN COUNTY”, Yorkshire.

Biomedical Sciences….Tech…..Yorshire…….Travelling...How the hell did I get to where I am now you maybe thinking?

Whilst studying my degree in Biomedical Sciences in 2015, I worked in a genetics lab for 3 months, an interesting experience but also one of the most boring experiences ever. So after graduating I decided to pursue a new endeavour which aligned with my interests. I knew I had an interest in technological innovation, so applied and managed to secure my first job organising Tech Conferences across the globe. Straight out of university I was organising tech conferences in Australia, Hong Kong and the US (Yes I did get to go there and will be sharing some stories about this in later posts). Before this job, the furthest I travelled was Bournemouth, so travelling across the world through work ignited a real passion for travel and a desire to see the world.


(Beautiful view from a boat ride I took along the bay in Hong Kong)

I left this job after 8 months, a more experienced and well rounded individual and returned back to my hometown Doncaster. After a couple of months trying and failing to learn code, I managed to secure a new role in for a Ed-Tech Startup called Tutorful. Hired as an “Events & Partnerships Officer”, my role quickly morphed into a marketing and SEO based role. Not the best thing, but again I got the opportunity to learn so much and was part of a team (three of us), helping grow the businesses online presence and web traffic. However like most young people these days, I still didn’t know what I wanted to do. My team were great, however that fire and passion wasn’t there, so with the new year around the corner, I have decided to leave.


(One of the best things about my old office, cool artwork and beautiful views)

What Now?

I am at the stage in life where I want to really pursue my two main interests, travelling and tech. More importantly, I am looking to create something that combines these two interests and creates a meaningful impact on the society. This is why I joined Steemit, I want to document my Journey over the next few months as I try to create something and get inspiration from you guys, the steemians, along the way.

If you like my post and would like to follow my Journey, please give me a follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97