2x Glorious R9 270x are exiting my life tomorrow!

in #technology7 years ago

Press F to pay respects. On the left, the Sapphire, on the Right, the ASUS. Both of these cards are about 5 years old, and have officially retired from crypto currency mining. In a time when litecoin was the only alt coin, these cards were some of the best equipment you could get in terms of bang for buck for mining. I won't lie, they spent a lot of time mining doge.

More recently, I acquired the Sapphire, from a friend, who gave it much the same treatment as I in its early days.

These storied legends have sold on e-bay and will be shipping to their winners tomorrow, and the proceeds (I made about $150 AUD total, after fees, and some dregs that were in my paypal account) will soon be invested into STEEM Power.

These cards served well, and spent out their last days in the house of holoz0r mining UBIQ on a questionably constructed mining rig frame that I built:

With summer on its way, and no longer requiring a heater in the bedroom, they can now go off to their new home! Hopefully, next winter, I'll be back with more mining stories, to keep the bedroom nice and toasty! Until then, the money I save on my power bill will go straight into crypto!

Sort:  

5 years, those are some immortal graphics cards. Mining is expensive in the summer. Have you considered Hard drive mining? Is a lot less noisy.

Yes, I tried with burst and gave up very quickly. It simply wasn't worth the ROI (very little, with the spare capacity I have available)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85