The somewhat budget gaming computer for 2018 (727$)

in #technology7 years ago

The New Years budget gaming PC

This is the PC build for that New Years resolution to play CS:GO, League of Legends, Dota 2 and other games that take up most of your time anyway. So why don't we just get started here?


Case

Let's get started with the case, so for this build, we will be using the ROSEWILL ATX Mid Tower Gaming Computer Case, I chose this case first off because it is an ATX mid-tower case, and in my opinion, mid-tower cases are the easiest to work with when it comes to custom builds. To be fair you could also use a smaller form factor case, but that's up to you, either way, the case is the most unspecified thing in this list anyway. So go ahead and choose what you like.


Graphics card

And right after I gave you the most meaningless piece of the computer built, here, have the most important thing you will need in making a "GAMING" computer, and that is the Graphics Processing Unit or GPU for short. AS this build is intended for the person who plays somewhat low spec games, we are not going to go with anything spectacular, but it will be powerful enough to handle most games at medium graphics quality on 60 fps at least. For that, we have the Geforce Dual GTX 1050 Ti 4GB card. To be honest I have not done enough research to know what the dual specification means, but either way, you should look for something along the lines of a GTX1050 Ti with 4 GB of processing power.


Motherboard

Next, we will move on to the main part of your computer which is obviously the motherboard, without this there is no computer, this makes the computer run (I know that most of you know this already). For this build, I've chosen an AMD CPU and because of that, we have to choose a motherboard that supports AMD CPU's(Central Processing Unit). Here I have the ASUS Prime B350-Plus motherboard which supports one of the more recent AMD CPU model types - Ryzen.


CPU

As I just mentioned I will be adding an AMD CPU processor to this build, more specifically the AMD Ryzen 5 1600X model. Since this is most likely all you need in terms of processing power, it has 6 cores and 12 threads, is overclockable and is clocked at a pretty high frequency of 4GHz. Personally, I am a big fan of the Ryzen series of processors and I believe they are currently, for their price, one of the best in the market even when comparing to Intel CPUs.


RAM (Random Access Memory)

This one was hard to find a good deal on, mostly because the prices of RAM have gone up significantly and are way out of anyone's budget at this point, so I had to stick with lower frequency RAM, to be able to have 8GB of it. And even then it cost nearly 100$. I find that to be a bit absurd. Either way, the one I chose was the Patriot Memory Viper Elite Series 8GB RAM stick clocked to 2400MHz.


Hard Drive/SSD

This build being a "budget" one I chose to not include an SSD, but for those who aren't afraid to spend like an extra 20$ - 40$ you can get yourself a Crucial MX300 275GB Solid State Drive, but originally I have incorporated the Western Digital Blue 1TB hard drive into the price of the build.


Power Supply (PSU)

This is quite simple but important. A good power supply will ensure that you have a great gaming experience and of course, will ensure that your computer doesn't randomly turn off mid-game. Taking into consideration the parts used in this build I've chosen the ROSEWILL Gaming 80 Plus Gold 550W Power Supply. You might ask, well why is the wattage so low, that is because these components do not take more than 300-400W of power anyway.


So that is the budget gaming PC build for 2018, cheap yet powerful coming in at about 730$ it will guarantee 60 fps in most games, maybe not running on the highest graphical quality, but it will surely handle some lighter games such as CS:GO and League of Legends. If you found this post somewhat helpful or interesting make sure to upvote it for the work I put in and follow me @Haisir for more posts related mostly to gaming.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I believe "dual" stands for "dual fan" design. At least, that's what I think.

Might be, I will do some more research about that.

At that price point you might as well save up a few more hundred dollars and set your budget at $1000 that extra bit will be worth it to get the 16g ram and a better graphics card.

The graphics card I agree with, but I cannot see myself wasting $100 more to have not such a big improvement in games what so ever. Thank you for your opinion!

Well this "RAM shortage" is the real problem here. RAM never cost this much in the past and I still think it's a made up shortage. I personally think that the crypto miners bought all the GPUs up and RAM makers used that as an excuse to upcharge on RAM even though miners don't use that much RAM to begin with.

It's just a bad time to build a rig, even trying to buy a 1080 used, people are selling them at such a high price.

But in the end it all comes down to the persons preference in games. Your build here would be perfect for all the games I play.

omg it's too much expensive

Well to be honest for what it is it's nothing too expensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43