New Pivacy Phone by John McAfeesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

I Want One John!

It looks like the waiting list has closed but I signed up for the email updates here.

Photos of the Privacy Phone by John McAfee.

privacy-phone-john-mcafee-hilarski-steemit.jpg

john-mcafee-privacy-phone-hilarski-steemit.jpg

Privacy Phone Overview

Introducing the world's first smartphone featuring hard kill switches, empowering its users to take back control of their privacy. All phones feature a built-in privacy control center giving users full control of access and functions of their phone.

Version 1 of the Privacy Phone gives our users enormous power over his or her privacy.

  1. Bank of switches allowing physical disconnection the battery, WiFi, Bluetooth and geolocation, the camera and the microphone, and more.
  2. Resistant to Stingray or any other IMSI catcher device.
  3. Web search anonymizer to prevent searches from triggering an avalanche of ads.
  4. Developed in the United States, designed in Denmark, and assembled in Europe.
  5. Version 2 coming in 2018

Cover Image Source

Sort:  

Technology taking over the world

This is a really interesting looking device. I really like the idea of physically disconnecting components like radios rather than trusting that you're safe behind a software toggle.

I stopped purchasing phones when they became unable to take off the back, and pull the battery. What an invasion of privacy!

I had my current Note 4 setup for wireless charging, and Samsung wants to display ADS on the phone, as it charges?!
That was the last straw; I pulled the wireless charging coil out of it, and never used it again...

I don't trust apps on phones; they can do anything they like, and user has little or no awareness of what an app is actually doing on their device; they will grant game apps unlimited permissions; they are surprised when their bank account gets cleaned out.
I trust web apps, and little else, on my phone... ;-)

Woow really useful phone, more in this days when privacy is a big problem

Wow this is really cool for some secret industry :)

It looks like one pretty good phone
I've seen similar pig ones where you can turn onboard encryption on but nothing like
I hope you are able to get one @hilarski

Me too, but I had to go on the secondary list.

I think I would be tempted to buy one just for the design.

That things looks awesome!

Looks interesting , Is it going to be available in Canada too?

It should be available everywhere but it will depend on what type of service it operates off of. I imagine it will be GSM not CDMA.

Ha. What a contrast. A privacy phone looking so good it is actually a show-off!

Was just a matter of time. Not surprised at all it's McAfee bringing it to the table.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82