You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good and the Ugly side of Tesla's newest Electric Semi Truck

in #technology7 years ago

I think part of the 300k could have a job working in other companies generated by the automated industry. The same happened to NITEL (fixed phone landline) workers in Nigeria when GSM took hold. I remember the clamoring and opposition towards GSM then. My Uncle working as the Head Technical Service Engineer then in NITEL, lost his job, but he was smart enough to undergo some RF training and was absolved by MTN. That was a relief, but many unskilled workers were hugely laid off when NITEL later became MTEL, a project that failed again.

Sort:  

It's a different story with Truck driving buddie, trust me most of this folks had zero education not to talk of been employed by automated Industry. Take Nigeria for example, how many Truck drivers do you think can switch to a Digital work mode(Consoles and Controls)? Except it could be accommodated just like in the Aero sector where Autopilot never pushed Actual pilots out of Work.

@oluwoleolaide, they will lose their jobs no doubt, but they would definitely get another job elsewhere. In the long run, it is a good thing. Change always comes at a cost, many coal engineers lost their job in the advent of diesel engines, but ain't we better off with it now? I know we are.

@richq11, sorry, I do not understand the question.

You said you're sure the truckers would get jobs... where would they get them?

@richq11 They will definitely adapt, there are other jobs they could still do if they get fired. I am not saying it is going to be easy, but they would adapt with time. I doubt they'd be laid off without severance package/compensation.

Where do you live? How do you know they'll adapt- because you say so. How many truck drivers do you actually know?

@richq11, I live in Nigeria, I have seen people adapt to crazy situations. I have seen families survive on nothing. I have seen things on survival that would look stranger than fiction. I once lived it. I have survived on nothing, so I know it is actually possible to survive. It is not like I am advocating for the truck drivers to lose their jobs, but if it is inevitable, is there really something that could be done to reverse it?

If its for the Nigerian truck drivers, i really pity them, uneducated is one trouble another is how the trucks have deformed them. They may be safe for now since the terrain of Nigerian roads may not accommodate the autos for now but who knows, Nigeria may be one of the first patronizer of this product. Something needs to be done. If these truck drivers are laid off, there is a huge problem at hand for the economy and the populace. You know what i mean..

I definitely understand you man, some of them might never recover from that loss.

@oluwoleolaide, but I still believe before this would go very much commercial and accepted by many, many of these truckers would have gotten another job in their skill level.

That's what i call circumstance balancing itself, only that some damages will surely be incurred

@ayobami99, exactly! You got what I have been trying to pass across.

@ayobami99 remember our good roads. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67