You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good and the Ugly side of Tesla's newest Electric Semi Truck

in #technology7 years ago

@oluwoleolaide, they will lose their jobs no doubt, but they would definitely get another job elsewhere. In the long run, it is a good thing. Change always comes at a cost, many coal engineers lost their job in the advent of diesel engines, but ain't we better off with it now? I know we are.

Sort:  

@richq11, sorry, I do not understand the question.

You said you're sure the truckers would get jobs... where would they get them?

@richq11 They will definitely adapt, there are other jobs they could still do if they get fired. I am not saying it is going to be easy, but they would adapt with time. I doubt they'd be laid off without severance package/compensation.

Where do you live? How do you know they'll adapt- because you say so. How many truck drivers do you actually know?

@richq11, I live in Nigeria, I have seen people adapt to crazy situations. I have seen families survive on nothing. I have seen things on survival that would look stranger than fiction. I once lived it. I have survived on nothing, so I know it is actually possible to survive. It is not like I am advocating for the truck drivers to lose their jobs, but if it is inevitable, is there really something that could be done to reverse it?

It isn't inevitable... Truck drivers drive trucks- let them do their job. The highways in America are difficult to navigate even for experienced drivers. Self-driven trucks is lunacy.

I just watched one of the clips, Amnesty International should apply more pressure because I do not see the miners or the government doing anything about it. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67