You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Current State of Alt-Tech

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Nice post.

I'm finding Steem replacing Gab.

I like Gab I just think a blockchain rewards work way better. Maybe when they achieve this I can transition to Gab full time.

Brave is just garbage for desktop. Amazing for mobile.

As for Dtube I'm confident. The developer gas tried his best but there's no real way to make it remotely useable. Transcoding is essential. And non ability to protect copyrights.

Sort:  

Thanks. It seems to me that the promise of money and superior user experience is the surest way to lure people onto a new platform.

While Brave works better for me on mobile than on desktop, occasionally I encounter blank pages instead of web pages. Maybe things will improve with time.

Have you tried using DTube from an uploader's perspective? Why is transcoding essential?

If you experience page breaking turn off the shield inside of Brave. Any form of ad blocking will break a website in some way.

Transcoding is essential because broadband and HD is a 1st world luxury. And that's being generous. Even when I was in England, paying for 100mb I rarely could watch even Twitch on source or 1080p quality. The majority are throttled in some way. By dunping a master file in Dtube we go back to the early days of the internet where buffering is a thing.

Thanks. I'll try turning off the shield and see how things fare.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69