Sort:  

Sounds like a great way to spend the day.

Oh it was! I came to a conclusion which has helped me through the years. Everything that was, is and will be again.

Yes, time is cyclic, I wrote a post about this actually. Or well, hinting at it.

https://steemit.com/technology/@sammosk/the-heartbeat-of-the-universe-shells-inside-shells-the-grandest-cycle

I quite enjoyed reading that. I have always been of the impression that the universe is like a DVD where time/matter is just the data on a loop in a video store with every copy.

Taking my view time travel is quite possible but also redundant. Like skipping back to an old scene from a movie that will still play out the same regardless.

So let's say I travel back to kill Hitler and succeed. What happens to present as we know it? It should lead to a different now. But if that different now is not now then it must be somewhere else. On a different dvd

It really depends on how time operates, either you will be on a new disk, with the timeline changed, you would fade from existence, or have no identity, no friends, no family, perhaps even slip out of phase with the new timeline, or no matter what you do hitler will just be unstoppable, like by killing him he will just be cloned and go on to do whatever anyway.

Unless that disc is already there and data moves from one to another. So the me from disc A travels back in time to disc A Hitler and kill's him. From that point I will cease to exist from my time of departure. Nothing in disc a's past will change. When I kill Hitler in Disc A I am simply moved to disc B.

I do not consider disc B to a new disc but just another variation of disc A which already happened

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31