Operation PC Upgrade: Update

in #technology6 years ago


Source

A few days ago I told you about my plans to upgrade my PC to better suit my 3D design and rendering work. I mentioned how I needed to buy my upgrades piece by piece and that I had started by purchasing the new motherboard. That arrived next day and is now sitting on my shelf.

Once again the awesome @pennsif bought Steem from me in exchange for Amazon vouchers and, with some more funds I managed to acquire, I went online shopping again last night. I fell extremely lucky as the processor, an i7 8700k, had dropped by £40 - $56.25. I caught it at a good time as today the price has increased by £20. As a result I also managed to bag my initial 16GB of 3200Mhz DDR4 memory and a 250GB Samsung Evo M.2 SSD. When funds allow I will get another 16GB of memory. The more the better for my design work.

Of course, I forgot to order some thermal paste so I added that to my cart today, along with some isopropyl alcohol: I am installing all of these parts in my Fractal Design R5 case and, while it has done a great job of filtering dust, I'd like to give the interior a clean, along with the components I am removing.


Source

I shall be reusing my Noctua NH-D15 cooler. It's huge, ugly, but is a brilliant CPU cooler. It has kept my 3.2 Ghz i5 running at 4 Ghz without overheating or thermal throttling for months. As a bonus, it is also extremely quiet, even when the fan speeds increase. It should have no trouble taming the i7. In sharp contrast, I tried a Cooler Master Seidon 240V all-in-one watercooler with my current system, and the Noctua performed much better.

I am excited - as most geeks would understand - to be able to make these upgrades. My i5 has 4 cores with just 4 threads. The i7 has 6 cores and therefore 12 threads. More threads the better for 3D rendering. I also feel my i5 has bottlenecked my graphics card somewhat, a GTX 980. Even so, in the near future I hope to upgrade this too, possibly with a GTX 1080ti. More money to earn and save.

This would not have been possible on my income previously. It is down to this platform and the awesome support I have received since I arrived in May last year. I look forward to sharing more 3D and design content with you all in future and I am eager to divulge some design plans we have and projects we are working on at The Writer's Block.



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @hoschitrooper


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Steemit makes a lot of things possible.
@pennsif makes a hell of a lot more possible!
Everyone here makes me thankful every day (yes, I see you upvoting me you glorious bastard...)

We'd be in the shit royally without all of you right about now. Reminds me, I must send you the pics of that KVM switch.

Congrats on those sweet sweet upgrades and getting 1 more step closer to building the new PC. Are you going to upgrade the power supply as well, or are you just using the power supply from your existing PC?

I'll be reusing my current 800W power supply, but will buy another for my back up machine.

Nice little set up there! I have been thinking about doing the same lately, but with the price of graphics cards and what not going up so high, it's not feasible at the moment!

Nice. I bought the Noctua NH-D14 six years ago almost to the day. That's the previous model, but it looks the same. It a monstrosity and sometimes I stare at it and wonder if it was really necessary (most recently when I needed to get to the RAM slots it covers on my board), but the thing is still going strong, and it's still nice and quiet, so it seems like it was a good purchase. I'd love to get a 1080ti too, but cryptominers are keeping graphics card prices so high :)

Great technology ..
I appreciate your post.
Thanks for sharing this post

Best of luck

Dear Steamian
I use my steem power to help people like you to gain more attraction.
Please consider doing the same for my posts. i just upvoted your post.
Have a nice day :)

Firstly, no you didn't.

Capture.PNG

Secondly, this is not the way to get support by asking for upvotes.

He did now :P
Shame is a wonderful motivator lol

Sorry sir, You did not like my post, there was a bandwidth problem sir, I was voting your post. i voted
IMG_20180215_204250114.jpg

Nice purchase... Got the geek juices going... Sorry PG... Right. Certainly jealous, thinking it might be time to do some upgrades... Need to keep up with the 'Jones'.

It looks like a monster. it was a descriptive article. Thank you @gmuxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75