Samsung Galaxy Note 8 and 'Planned Obsolescence'.

in #technology7 years ago

I have been patiently waiting for the Samsung Galaxy Note 8 to be released and I'm getting more and more excited as September 15th approaches!

I've been HODLing my Samsung Galaxy Note 4 for the past couple of years. Not only have I saved some major cash in doing so but I've also been able to miss out on all of the FUD (Fear, uncertainty, doubt) surrounding previous phone releases. While the new technology of 'water resistance' has been appealing, it hasn't been enough to make me run out and buy into a new phone.

What then has convinced me that it's time to upgrade? Several things including planned obsolescence. What is planned obsolescence you may ask? Planned Obsolescence is the policy of producing customer goods that rapidly become obsolete and so require replacing, achieved by frequent changes in design, termination of the supply of spare parts and the use of non-durable materials. To break this down a little further, technology constantly advancing makes things go obsolete. To relate to this phone, my current camera is like a play toy compared to the camera in the new phone. When my phone was mass produced, so were all of the batteries for this model of phone. As those batteries age, their ability to hold a charge and charge up properly deteriorate. Since the next model has come along, I can't buy a same model battery brand new.

The Samsung Galaxy Note 8 has me suffering from FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). I want a phone that's water resistant. I want a phone with the best camera on the market. And to be completely honest, the dual camera and camera technology it comes with is what I'm most excited about! I want a fast processor with the most ram available to really enjoy the best technology available.

My Note 4 has been a great phone BUT I have 3 batteries for it, none of which charge to 100% or actually last for the whole battery life per charge. My camera takes good pictures but it's not a dual camera like the Note 8 has. My phone is not water resistant. My phone has half the memory and half the processor power.

The one thing I am not so happy about with this phone is that it actually has a smaller battery than the Samsung Galaxy S8+. Albeit a very slight difference in battery size, it does matter! What are your thoughts on this? What phone do you currently have and why? I refuse to own ANY Apple products, but that's a whole different post for me to do, well, soon!

PLEASE comment, upvote, share etc and know it is all appreciated, I'll take those tips, if any, and learn and pass on the knowledge I get to everyone I can! I really want a good discussion to form on this post because I may develop FOMO for another phone and just have to wait longer to get another phone!

Bitcoin = 176idudV8nJUxBGgnKfkQKS8sGRXREeT6n
Dogecoin = DRe8u1ifAAeH9b3wQDvLYbYX56UJBHHmtH

I'll keep the if you follow me, I'll follow you, trend going! If you like my posts, I'll like yours back! Help a good guy out =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44