Technology: Minecraft in the air?! Augmented reality for drones!

in #technology7 years ago

Bonjour les Steemians,

I fell in love with virtual reality, the first time I put some oculus goggles on my face. Since then I am following the augmented and virtual reality scene with a lot of excitement.

So, there is this particular AR project which catched my interest. The teaser got released about a week ago by Dronebase which established itself as an online drone network for many years.

Have a look:



So basically the App lets you build your own little minecraft universe whilst flying around in a "real" environment. I can only imagine how many drones will get crashed by this new technology. But hey, progress demands sacrifice.

On the other hand, there are so many amazing possibilities with this technology! Imagine building racing courses in the sky which you can then share with your friends, competing for the best time. Or a live reconstruction of damaged buildings. The applications are endless.

The graphics remind me of the first computer games and we all know what it can become in the next ten years.

This comes just right since I am getting a drone for my work at the end of the month. I will spend some weeks in the jungle, mapping forests from the air, this is my dream job and I am really excited about it. So you will definitely see a video in the coming weeks of myself building with digital bricks in the Himalayas.

There you have it, the future is here.

Hear you soon,


Music wise, check out this beautiful, melodic slow tech set by Chris Schwarzwälder

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by genius_loci from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73