You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going to the Nordic Edge! A peek of tomorrow’s cities based on open data and new technologies!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Despite its ambitious scope I did not even know about this conference. :D
How did you happen to get involved as an organizer anyway?

Sort:  

Although it did attract a lot more international organisations than in previous years, it is still mostly a nordic conference. It takes time to build international recognition, so I would not expect that this early.

I've made myself fairly well known in the political circles, among the interesting people leading the tech companies, and also in the innovation ecosystem and academia in the region, mostly by continuously showing up and setting off evenings to participate in conferences, workshops, and other events because I simply love it.

So I've been called up to help give ideas in to new initiatives like this in the past, and I did help create the Young programme for last year's conference. So when I moved to Paris to pick up my duties at the Space Agencies, and we were looking for a venue to organise a session on satellite data for smart cities, I already knew all of the people I would need to contact to make it happen. Which I did :P

Oh yes indeed, satellite imaging and smart city applications, I had not really thought of that.
I can see a reasonable connection there, you can use satellite based precision data for so many different things nowadays

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56