Windows 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 Privacy Settings - Take Control

in #technology7 years ago

This post is about how to easily block or stop all of the ways that Microsoft Windows 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 is tracking you and your activity and sending information about you and your PC back to Microsoft. Most can be done through the Windows interface but Spybot has a tool called Spybot Anti-Beacon that is free, works beautifully and can stop most if not all tracking with the click of one button. As far as I can tell there is no additional adware or malware that is installed with it. If you find out otherwise please let me know.

Microsoft has taken the stance that when Windows is installed or Updated these tracking items are turned on by default without any notification to the end-user. I disagree and found Spybot’s Anti-Beacon to be a great tool. In addition, this tool has the option to re-apply your privacy setting on restart of the PC. This is a great option as many times when Microsoft installs an Update they reset the tracking items to a default of ON (ignoring that you personally turned them off) with no notification to the end-user. Be sure if you decide to install this tool to check the box titled “Refresh immunization after each system restart” to have your privacy setting reapplied after each system restart.

The Spybot Anti-Beacon tool has 2 tabs titled “Protection” and “Optional” where privacy items can be turned on or off. Using the Immunize button will turn off all items on the “Protection” tab and most of the items under the “Optional” tab. For additional control click the “Apply” button on items you would like protected on the “Optional” tab.

Spybot does have a portable version of this program which means it could be put on a thumb drive and run on any computer without any installation, but I would suggest you install the full version because the portable version does not have the ability automatically reapply your privacy settings after each reboot.

The link to the Spybot Anti-Beacon tool is https://www.safer-networking.org/spybot-anti-beacon/

If you are as concerned about what Microsoft may be tracking and what data may be being sent back to Microsoft, as I am, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by this tool. A real hats off to Spybot.

If you found this post to be helpful please give me an upvote!

Sort:  

We never had these issues back in the DOS days :D

No we didn't but those days are long gone :)

I have Q. If steem runs on blockchain,which to my knowledge is open source and completely public,how is it that corporations can not farm your data just as easily,as say on facebook,ect. especially considering that this site has bots and ,are more prevalent here?
I am tech illiterate .. so please forgive my ignorance...and explain to me ... thanks and namaste

Your question is a good one and I don't have the time to go in to a full explanation but if you have windows 10 click on the windows button on the far left bottom, then click on the settings icon, then click on the Privacy icon. Now click on the icons for camera or microphone and actually read what applications are being given permission to access them. Next, click on each of the other icons to see what you permission you are giving Microsoft. I think what you will see is you are giving Microsoft permission to access everything from your camera to your microphone to your calendar and contacts to much of what you type whether searching Google or searching your own PC for a file and much more. You are not giving anyone access to this when you use SteemIt. Hope this helps.

thanks for the response.
running windows 7, and my monitor is like 15 years old ,and doesn't have a cam. , but I guess I was off topic here... I was referencing the collection of data through web? usage ... like I said I am ignorant about this stuff...know I should know more . I am trying to do so...lol...but from my understanding the government according to Snowden is tracking and storing everything...
I understand you are busy. and I thank you for your response. namaste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49