From Wi-Fi to Li-Fi at LIGHT-speed

in #technology6 years ago

Let the LIGHT through


Now, this is so new to me as I had only heard about it a short time ago and it's called Li-Fi, which stands for light fidelity and it's end use is similar to Wi-Fi, but instead uses light to transmit data.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Li-Fi


Sat Intro.JPG


So, from underground cables, to light speed data transfers across land, this could be the next system we all use to watch the TV, use the Internet, or even communicate with one another. We may send the term 'lag' into the rubbish bin once-and-for-all, and everything would be at light speed, providing a more fluid online experience. The technology has/is being developed in Edinburgh, Scotland by the Institute for Digital Communications. The D-Light project was funded from January 2010 to January 2012, and I have provided a link to an article that covers this project with the advancements made.

http://visiblelightcomm.com/d-light-project-hits-target/

To be honest, it's all a little bit over my head, as this is new technology to the public, but I will surmise as best I can, based upon the little info I have. The light vision communication system uses LED lights to turn light into data, which can then be transferred across a wider bandwidth, as opposed to a more narrow bandwidth, like with radio waves. As I said before, this is all new to me, but it makes sense that this technology could be in our homes before you know it, and the world could one day be moving at warp speed.


Sat Dish 1.JPG


Open Your Eyes

We absorb light through our eyes, so possibly in the future we could transfer information with the right hardware implanted, simply by clocking eyes with one another, even our thoughts? Who knows, it's making me feel a little LIGHTheaded for now, but definitely to be continued...

I hope this post has enLIGHTened you somewhat.


Logo.jpeg

Sort:  

Li-Fi has great potential, but I don't how well it'll be able to stack up against faster Wi-Fi speeds in the future. It's an interesting development in any case, and I enjoyed the puns. :)

Thanks @rebelheart, I love a good pun.

This post has received a 1.59 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @flatrider.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38