You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Browser security - Passwords, plugins and some tips to keep your accounts safe

in #technology7 years ago

The Steemit password is so long and complicated though that I doubt I could ever memorize it. I do keep it on my home computer and other places. It is definitely dangerous though. That's one reason I keep my account balances in the locked away places. I use my account every day too, so I'd know if I got hacked or if someone tried to take from my wallet, right?

I'm not so nervous about it right now since my account doesn't have much in it, but I plan to let it grow...

Sort:  

Not actually @finnian , someone could access your account and just stalk on you until you had some significant value in your account and steal you.
However if he were to make a transaction it would be logged so you would know however it would be too late...
If you think your account might be compromised reset your password and maybe talk to steemit support so they can check if someone logged from other Ip than yours
Also storing your password on your home computer might not be the best place use a usb stick or a memory card... and always have a paper backup hidden

I use this to store my password it is encrypted and the passwords are in a protected file so it is pretty much harder to obtain it and really easy to hide

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44