You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Left My Computer Science Degree & Developed a Mobile Game

in #technology7 years ago

A good story, well written as well. I guess some of those classes stuck.

From the perspective of the other end of a career working computers.

I have been working online for the better part of 20 years now. During this time I have worked with, and for, some of the biggest online gambling brands on the Internet. My main areas work fell in with online marketing, content development, SEO & SMM and web production.

As a self taught Internet professional I can tell you that because I do not have any kind of diploma, and I mean any kind, my earning potential is halved,or worse, when working for just about any corporation.

It doesn't matter that I have taught a lot of people with advanced degrees some of the finer workings of the Internet, search engines, social media and programs. Without a diploma to show that you can stay the course, you are providing potential employers with an excuse to pay you less.

Do yourself the favor of graduating with some kind of degree. It is money and time well spent. Your future self will thank you later. Especially if life prevents you from striking out on your own to found your own business and you have to work for someone else.

Sort:  

Definitely agree with that @fester. Just for the record I'm still attending college pursuing a Film & Media degree. I think it's a bit reckless to have the option of graduating and opt out of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51