The implant generation - Our future communication problemssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

It is not unnusual today to be at least a little bit worried about the postmilenial generation: Generation Z, or K, or as we prefer to call it. No matter our concerns , sooner rather than later, the technology will enable a generation with implants and that will mark a harder that ever line between humans, and generations.

My son is 2 years old. He was born in 2015 and there is nothing to suggest that if the world still works as a home for humanity, he will not see the next turn of the century. Life expectancy being what is today, it is only logical to expect it will happen.
Depending on the progress of technology, I would say that that should be true for me too. I was born in 1981. If I wanted to reach the end of the century, I should stay alive until I was 119. Thats a number that is not that crazy to me.

  • A detonator
    A certain necessity for that to happen is that I must replace part of my body's biological functionality with its synthetic alternatives, made by the hand of man (or by the grip of a machine, it does not matter really).
    However, my child will have the possibility to do this same thing as an option in his life and it will come with no philosophical stance. Those who are being born today will see the possibility of an implant with other eyes and above all, with another operational evaluation. Implants are not something new and we have already made good use of them. The difference with the implants that will come mainly has to do with the digitization of its functionality, and by doing things digital, enabling in/out loops between our bodies and the rest of the digital universe.

  • Not Moral
    I am not going to raise here what things should matter or what aspects will become relevant because that is not what makes the difference. What makes the present (or almost present) situation truly different is the way we take this space of possibility. The implant, for those born from today, will be probably little more discussed than the color of shoes or the combination of patterns in clothing. I do not think I'm making a prediction with this. I believe that it is part of what we cannot avoid.

  • Humanity
    One of the premises of my work in communication is to try to return to the humanity of communication. One hundred years of industrialized communication have wreaked havoc with naturally occurring forms of relationship and human communication.
    The current generation, for example, the postmillenials or the generation k, are traveling that way more or less spontaneously. Honesty, commitment and cultivation of similar values ​​are very important to these guys.
    But I can not but wonder what will happen when human beings have these supernatural abilities to relate to each other. What will we do when we can see in infrared and swim in a superimposed virtual reality? How do we sustain our humanity at that moment?

  • Being Human
    My first blog was called "Actually Being", the pun intended to circumvent the imperative and the noun of the verb "to be" and become something in between.
    I can say it one more time, what makes us human is not what concerns me. What does take away processing time in my mind is the fact that the concept never needed the flexibility it needs now. Not for humans to stop being it, nor for non-humans to be able to become it. In no case did we have to discuss it in that much detail.
    Isac Asimov, in The Bicentennial Man, argues that to be considered a man, the machine must be able to die. What will happen then when humans no longer necessarily die? Moreover, what shall become of that definition when robots find a non arguable way of dying?

The next generation will take the reins of this wild horse. I do not have to worry. But I'm worried all the same.
Rescuing our humanity can be complex enough to take us all the time we have been human and give us permission to stop being human. Without being able to get away from Nietzsche's words for a second, the generation that is being born now is the supermen of tomorrow.

We should start to get around the idea.

Sort:  

naturally occurring forms of relationship and human communication.
no such thing. No person is BORN knowing how to speak. Language is not Natural. Language is an invention. Language is technology. There is no such thing as a natural human. Humans are DEFINED by technology.

The MORE that humans are augmented by technology..the MORE human we become.

So, the more technology is adopting human nature, the more technoligical tech gets?
That's my point. Flexibility on the definitions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46