You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Review: The famous IBM Model M Keyboard, and why you should get one.

in #technology6 years ago

I am working on the computer on a daily basis. I try not using my mouse at all, so I really use my keyboard a lot. I used to not care about what keyboard I use at all. One day a colleague recommended a mechanical keyboard so I got one for the office.
To be honest, I liked that keyboard and since then I hated the really cheap ones, but I thought about what makes a keyboard good for me and that is typing speed and the duration I can use it without my fingers gettign tired or becoming slower.

So I measured my typing speed (450 keystrokes/min). I then had to use my Macbook keyboard on a trip. After a week I was able to use that keyboard as long as I wanted and my speed was exactly the same as on the mechanical keyboard.
I tested that on several other keyboards as well and after about a week of usage, it makes no difference (fore me).
I am now using a cherry chiclet keyboard, beacause it is very quiet.

I know I am not a very fast typer and maybe it makes a difference if you can hit 550 or 600 keys/min, but for me a mechanical keyboard makes no difference.

Sort:  

I don't know that a mechanical keyboard would make a huge difference in speed: I can find more keys without looking, and I never have questions about "did I hit that key or not?" .. so that must help speed things up a BIT. But as far as sustained typing speed, it's probably not a huge difference. My typing scores have not changed materially in 20 years, regardless of keyboard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43