You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Create Easy and Secure Passwords

in #technology7 years ago

That is a great method! I knew many ways of creating secure passwords, but the dice method was new to me, thank you for that!

Despite that, I really don't think that Last Pass is a good tool for your passwords since it stores them online without the option of only storing the data offline.
Unfortunately many programs have that problem. I still use 1Password, because I have an old version that syncy my devices over my (private) WLAN with no cloud involved at all. In my oppinion that is the best way of handling password.
Does anyone know an alternative avalilable for Mac/PC/Andoird/iOS?

Sort:  

I really don't think that Last Pass is a good tool for your passwords since it stores them online

Here is what LastPass says:

LastPass encrypts your Vault before it goes to the server using 256-bit AES encryption. Since the Vault is already encrypted before it leaves your computer and reaches the LastPass server, not even LastPass employees can see your sensitive data!

You can read more information here.

That's what they claim. And maybe that's what they really intended to do, but a single bug can help a potential hacker to read my data.
The problem is, that those hackers are more likely to attack one cloud with the data, than thousands of single peoples devices.

Yes that is very true. The goal here is to get the average person to have better password management. While using a service like lastpass is not ideal it in leaps and bounds better than what most people are doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59