No Wifi? No Sound? WTRPi!?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago (edited)


Bought my Raspberry Pi 3 from Logicware Aussie shop. Speedy delivery.

I installed Ubuntu MATE 16.04.2 LTS onto my RPi device. After installation, my Wifi decided to cut off. It wasn't connecting to the network. That was odd I said to myself. I just did the good old trick, restarted the device. BAM! It worked, Wifi came back on.

Tried to update the software through the updater and it said not enough space on boot...
My microsd card is a 32gb, plenty of space!

I ran the commands through the terminal

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get autoremove

These commands seem to do the trick! Didn't have to reinstall Ubuntu.

Then another issue came up. I plugged the aux cable, no sound. Why?!?! Needed to type more commands to activate it through the terminal.

For HDMI

sudo amixer cset numid=3 2

For 3.5mm audio jack

sudo amixer cset numid=3 1

My aux cable worked with the sound, trying it without the 3.5mm audio jack. Trying to play through my HDMI cable.

Needed to use these commands. The commands above did not work.

For HDMI

First, we have to edit config.txt through the terminal.
Terminal: sudo nano /boot/config.txt

Remove the # as per below:
This will force it to select HDMI mode
Before: #hdmi_drive=2#
After: hdmi_drive=2

Before: #hdmi_force_hotplug=1#
After: hdmi_force_hotplug=1

Hit Ctrl+X and Hit Y to exit and save and reboot.
Then type: sudo reboot

Tried viewing Youtube on it and it was quite choppy and laggy. The video doesn't fully load and it doesn't run quite smooth. Anyway, more tinkering!

Old blog post I wrote before, people might find it useful for future reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74