Comparing NAS Hard drives bang bucksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago


I was looking for a good price for my server. I want to rebuild my failed filer server where I was being so cheap, I was using WD Greens in RAID5. While rebuilding the array, 1 hard drive failed during the process hence 1 already failed then another one. I couldn't turn on my file server. I think it was about 12tb, all my movies, tv show and stuff all gone. Today, yet to recover it back. It's been years.


These are my opinions. Just doing some comparison with NAS hard drives. What is the best bang buck $ per gb and $ per tb. I am comparing Australian price where I live. It is quite pricey here, especially the West Side. I am comparing Western Digital Red NAS hard drives and Seagate Ironwolf NAS hard drives. Checked prices from staticice.com.au, a good comparison pc parts price checker to check prices in Australia.

By comparing $/gb, out of both, WD has it cheaper for 2tb drives at $15.75/gb. I have removed 1tb out of the equations because who buys 1tb drives nowadays?? As for $/tb, it seems like Seagate have it cheaper for 4tb at $48.5/tb. For this test, I would go for $/tb as the drives are in tb. The stores I have compared these prices are from MSY, PLE, Austin and Netplus. Prices last checked from 11th April 2017.

For me, I personally would choose 3tb WD NAS drives. Better for power efficiency and lower consumption with great reliability.

Cliffs:

$/gb (Lowest & Best) = 2tb WD @ 15.75/gb
$/tb (Lowest & Best) = 4tb Seagate @ 48.50/tb
OP would buy 3tb WD, prices just right in the middle for bang buck
Thanks for reading. Prices may vary by now.

Old blog post I wrote before, people might find it useful for future reading.![]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32