You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Google Determine The Future of Humanity?

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

I remember when Google was still in its infancy in the 90's. Back then, it became quickly the best search engine that eclipsed everyone, like Yahoo, Altavista, Webcrawler, etc... I loved Google as a search engine, but I don't like Google's direction 20 years later. It has become too intrusive, like a giant octopus with thousands of tentacles. People always despised government 1984-big-brother-ish behavior, but when it's a corporation like Google doing the same thing, the future might not look as bright as it seems. Google holds and tracks all its users information, throwing that into an AI entity makes me want to go live in some remote Amazon jungle (no pun intended).

P.S. I don't like Kurzweil's ideas, he pumps himself with 100's of daily meds to extend his lifespan. I don't think he will ever be immortal.

Sort:  

The thing is that people don't even realize that all information is tracked and saved. Data is gold for them.
I think pirates should start hunting octopuses. If you need a crew I'll be there captain, arrrr :)

What disturbs me even more, I had chatted with some people who actually don't care if they're tracked. They remind me of the Matrix, they sleep comfortably and don't want to wake up. I guess they prefer the red pill.

Illusion is often sweeter... before reality hits. I wonder what will be the thing that will make them realize.

Perhaps when they grow up and realize how stupid they were, giving away their privacy willingly and for free, that they might value the true meaning of liberty. People who give away their liberty are nothing but a slaves.

People who give away their liberty are nothing but a slaves

they give it away because taking responsibility is too much of a stretch

Yes, and that is my major concern despite the fact that the research they are doing is actually very important for the future of humanity because they are trying to solve some of our biggest problems. The problem lies in the fact that one single corporation would have that much power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61399.54
ETH 3383.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50