IFTTT: Automate Your Online Life & Steem Easily?

in #technology7 years ago (edited)


I'll turn on my Wi-Fi when I'm home and inform my partner that I've arrived via Whatsapp. Oh, Steemit! I love this guy's post, I should resteem AND share all of his posts on my facebook page RIGHT when its published! Drowning in scheduled tasks? Me too.


IFTT (abbrv. If this, then that) is an interface that sticks your used services together, making it easier for you to create or use community created tasks (they're calling it applets) to automate a flow. There's a wonderful app for that for both Android and iOS. (Look it up yourselves!)


Some popular applets on IFTTT website

My experience

I've used IFTTT for long enough. I love getting them new wallpapers, adding songs to my Spotify playlists dynamically and finding my phone easily if I lose it. Conserve battery when at home (turning off Wi-Fi and location) and avoiding embarrassing situations at work or class. Oh! My favorite, getting an SMS from my girlfriend as soon as she leaves work! And some I've created myself.

There is a huge variety of applets, compatible with a lot of smart products: Smart HP Printers, Google Home, Alexa, etc. and services: YouTube, Facebook, RSS Feeds, USA.gov, Gmail and probably everything you have imagined.
You can use their search option to find whatever. But you can also create new applets yourself!

Creating new applets

Creating a new applet is quite easy, every applet has a recipe, which includes a trigger and an action. The chart represents it in an obvious fashion. So a trigger will be a thing that happens in one of the supported platforms, Facebook, YouTube, so on and so forth. And an action will also take place, on the same or on another supported platform. And once you have added this applet to your account, you're ready to go!

Steem and IFTTT

Well, there are few Steem applets since Steem is not an officialy supported platform for IFTTT and there are many Steem Bots. BUT! Take a look at these:

It works with an RSS feed, so you can virtually customize those applets and publish them - I know I will. I don't know if Steem will be a supported platform but there are many applets you can create now to ease your Steem life.

EDIT: I've also posted a How-To on how you can create a Steem related applets which will help you!

Summary

There are many ways to take advantage of IFTTT features, including on Steem. I hope that you'll make use of them and I'll post as soon as I'll publish some brand new Steem related applets.


If you liked this post, then upvote and resteem please!

Sort:  

wow, really cool application.
thanks for the share it's really intresting.
i'll gonna try that.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @doriitamar to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35