The many uses of the IR Blaster on particular android devices.

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

Hello!

I wanted to provide my analysis of the IR blaster that comes installed with my Samsung Galaxy S6.

First and foremost, the sensor is at the top of the phone, which makes it easy to use from an orientation standpoint.
Image of the top of a Samsung Galaxy S6

My phone's OS (Default AT&T ROM) came with a remote control app (peel) built in. So I started it up.
Peel Smart Remote

Setup of a "remote" device was straight forward. Once I setup a room, and searched my model, it came up and turned my TV on!

With that being said, the app itself was too simplistic and limiting for my tastes. It only held so many remotes with the option to request more, and you cannot add multiple TVs to the same room (I use TVs as PC monitors). So I went searching for a new app. I came across anymote (I bought the pro version so I could customize and not be shown ads) [AnyMote Universal Remote APP]
(https://www.anymote.io/)
They also sell a home unit that is supposed to control ANYTHING, but I have not used it.

The new app was much simpler to use, and had a vast amount of remotes to choose from! What I liked about anymote was it's ability to add remotes or buttons to widgets for remote control without the app open. Shortly after playing with the app, I had all of my several TVs, a window AC unit, and my old 1990's stereo all being controlled from my phone! Say Goodbye to lost remotes!! (Unless you lose your phone.)

Most of this post seems to be a review of an app, but bringing it back around to the IR Blaster itself - it has functioned perfectly! From my experience, I can control devices within a 1' cone from the phone to the IR sensor itself. I have not had a single failed command, and without the need for batteries, I am operating all of my devices from the couch. COUCH POTATO MODE, ACTIVATE!

Funny image of an "Universal Remote, with several remotes taped together"

Sort:  

How do you feel about the Alcatel Idol 4S with #JBL speakers and #JBL earbuds with the VR headset it comes with along with the case and temper glass screen protector it includes @davikhale?

@iseektruth
I have personally never used any phones from the Alcatel brand. However, packed with JL drivers, VR and everything else, people should buy the 4s over the 4.. I cant provide a true review, but looking at the specs, its a solid buy. Really love the fact that it has a dual sim slot card. For travel, that is invaluable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76