Most used chat apps

in #technology7 years ago


Image Source

Hey Steemians,

Before my introduction into the crypto world about 4 months ago, Whatsapp was the messaging app I used the most, I did use facebook mesenger sometimes to catch up with old friends and use slack sometimes for work. After my introduction to crypto, I quickly realised that I needed to be on telegram, there are telegram crypto groups with as much as 5000 users and the support for gifs really makes the user expereince interesting,Im most active on telegram right now. On joining steemit, I had to add discord to my portforlio of chat apps as there are a lot of steemit users and channels over there, I know discord is majorly for gamers but steemit users are fast pushing it into the limelight. In this post I take a look at the most used apps based on number of active users, we get to see how apps in my portfolio are doing.


Top Chat apps


I got data aggregated by satista for number of active users.Data is as recent as this month.

Messenger AppActive Users
Whatsapp1,200,000,000.00
Facebook Messenger1,200,000,000.00
Wechat938,000,000.00
QQ861,000,000.00
Skype300,000,000.00
Viber260,000,000.00
Line214,000,000.00
Telegram100,000,000.00
BBM63,000,000.00
Discord9,000,000.00
Slack5,000,000.00

You can see from the table Whatsapp and Facebook Messenger which are both owned by facebook are way ahead,the third most used chat app is Wechat owned by chinese tech Giant Tencent.

Discord is way down with just 9,000,000 daily active users, I imagine it would experience proportional growth with steemit as it is the "go to" chat app for steemians.


Thanks for reading my post.Let me know your view on this post in the comments, I read and appreciate every comment.Each post I make takes considerable time and effort,please support me by upvoting and resteeming if you enjoyed it.Keep an eye on my blog for my next post. You can also follow me @datageek


Sort:  

Great post! I didn't know that WhatsApp was so much used. Personally i prefer Discord, because i'm on a computer. And use WhatsApp, or messenger on a computer, that isn't very logical. (I Resteemed this post ;-))

Whatsapp and Facebook messenger are the most popular chat apps and would probably remain popular for the foreseeable future. I am comfortable switching between web and mobile apps version of each chat app.

Whilst there are still people that I use whatsapp for, I personally FAR prefer telegram! Apart from being end to end encrypted, they also have MUCH cooler emoticons and stuff :)

Yeah telegram is really cool with those gifs. I LMAO at some funny gifs that just blends right into the conversation

hehehe true story :)

The use of the gif can be so annoying sometimes.

also true... lol

Great list. I don't use chat apps, but it's interesting to see how far Skype has fallen, i really don't hear of many people using it, except kind of older people still hanging on to it. Is Discord growing at a good rate? WeChat and QQ ... are those worldwide or more region specific? ty / peace

Wechat is owned by tencent , a Chinese giant, they are trying to expand into other markets though. Like you I do not remember the last time I used Skype, I guess they just couldn't keep up with their competitors

I had a feeling one was Chinese, ty

No number of active users of steemit? I see steemit taking over.

I think u should have also made computation for steemit too separately as there are still alot of steemit users especially newbie that are not on discord but are on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34