Strange Guns: Shattuck Palm Pistol

in #technology6 years ago

(Image source)

Produced between 1901 and 1915, C.S. Shattuck’s “Unique” squeeze palm pistol is one of the last of this type of sightless, underpowered concealable guns. Its core patent was actually filed by Oscar Mossberg, who worked for Shattuck before setting up his own gun manufacturing business. Mossberg would refine the concept after World War 1 into the Mossberg Brownie; a four-barreled, .22 Long Rifle pistol, similar to a derringer or pepperbox.

Shattuck produced a few thousand of these squeeze-fire guns, primarily chambered for .22 and .32 rimfire cartrdges, although there were a small number also made in .30 rimfire. They are all 4-barrel guns, with a rotating firing pin that fires the rounds sequentially, one per squeeze. The particular example above is a .32 caliber one, which used a slightly larger frame than the .22s.

Video by Forgotten Weapons




Sources: livefiring.com/en/27457



Follow me as @darthnava: "The Will to post is stronger than steem!"

Sort:  

I for one is amazed by guns and other armaments but the thing is no matter how attractive it looks, I do not feel like holding one. It makes me shake my body a lot.

nice info sir,hope you can visit my post sir darth,,thanks:-)

It's a strange thing that gun, but it looks comfortable.

This is a kind of a nice gun to have, very concealable by not good for aiming though. You just have to be very close to the target to hit it but it is a very convenient self-defense gun nonetheless that I would rather have than to just run from robbers, etc.
I like the repeating mechanism and it is awesome that you can fire four shots with it too.

Yes, pretty good to use if you are cornered by a thug!

what if it explode on your hands? I haven't tried to fire a real gun and firing this gun maybe rare to others who already fired a gun.

A strange weapon, I have never seen before
You did a really great article

Guns & their history is an intriguing subject. More posts like this please!😁

Yes, I agree.

In North america we call the "dillengers"

Thanks for stopping by, master witness @klye.

Must be worth some money to the right person.

Right, it is an antique.

My first time to see this gun it looks interesting.. lol for sure that gun can kill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93