Exploring Pl@ntNet: The Plant-Identifying App

in #technology7 years ago

Earlier this week, I discovered a new app called Pl@ntNet (identify.plantnet-project.org). I have been waiting for this app since the dawn of smartphone technology. I remember going out into the garden with my first iPad hoping an app like this existed to help me discern which plants were weeds. It didn't. Pl@ntNet is a tool designed to assist people in identifying plants. It uses your phone's camera to take a picture of the specimen then compares it to its database of flora to find prospective matches. At least, that is how it is designed to work, but as the app and the database is pretty new, it is far from perfect at this point. This morning, I took a stroll around my garden to see how Pl@ntNet stood up to my own horticultural knowledge.

image image
Nope
image
image
Nailed that one
image image
And that one
image image
So close
image image
Oooooh
image image image
It didn't get it on the first picture. The app works better when you isolate the flower or leaf, but zoom in too far and you'll lose some of the plant's distinctive features
image image
C'mon, you don't know kale?

Despite its present flaws, the potential for Pl@ntNet is immeasurable. It will be a boon for gardeners, foragers, travelers, and farmers. It could help people learn about unfamiliar plants at home and away, make weeding out the weeds easier, give you the ability to find edible plants in times of emergency, and make you look smart in front of your friends for knowing what kind of tree that is, among a myriad of other functions. At this point though, I'd trust my own knowledge (and especially my grandmother's) for our local flora over the app. Still, I highly recommend you downloading and trying it out. Thanks for reading! Light and love yall!

Sort:  

Very cool to see how it can be used so easily! Good point about trusting traditional knowledge (elders, experience) vs just getting into the App only. Nice one @daodesam !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DaoDeSam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow, Sam, I would LOVE to get this app. It doesn't seem to be available on my cell phone. I don't know if that has anything to do with the fact that I'm in Canada.

That is odd. I got it on the play store but it's on itunes too I believe. Try searching plantnet again or hopefully it's coming to you soon. Thanks for reading!

Congratulations @daodesam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing the cool app @daodesam hope people will get new experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81