Lyft vs Car ownership - Lyft offers new monthly subscription service

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Would you be willing to pay $200 a month to get all your rides for free? With the new subscription service Lyft is offering a deal where for $200 a month all rides under $15 are considered "free". In essence, you are prepaying for your rides. The article details how this is supposed to take place and Lyft CEO discusses how he wants to do for transportation what Netflix did for media.

The question is what determines the rates for rides which would guarantee they'd remain under $15 for the month? In the case that most rides remain under $15 then this could make sense but the actual cost of the ride is market based. Then again if cars become self driving this service could begin to make much more sense than owning a car.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Deal breaker if you live in big city where a car is a problem for insurance and parking.
It will come with a lot of fanfare.
Hum HUM !
Very good approach.
Keep on steemin'

Great idea for people who live in the city and have shorter commutes. This could lead to less people owning cars and opening parking. I like it.

According to what I understand has limitations in this beta version for example the subscribers who participate may not share the trips with another passenger. Trips can only be made in the standard function, ie it will not be valid for Shuttle, Line or luxury cars. And if the user does not take advantage of the 30 monthly trips, he will lose the trips he did not take.

Another point I read is that when the passenger is assembled, he will notice that the price will be US $ 0, but if the price of the trip exceeds US $ 15, the user would pay the difference.

Here I see a failure, for example what happens if the passenger begins to calculate distances to a certain site and chooses to use the service to approach the destination but not to reach him, who regulates this? There will be many who will take out their cunning to beat the system.

Greetings from Venezuela

Wouldn't person be able to just chain a bunch of $14 rides together to go longer distances? I wonder how Lyft plans to address that. ..

Great idea for people who live in the city and have shorter commutes. This could lead to less people owning cars and opening parking. Also good for people going grocery shopping. I like it.

Great idea for people who live in the city and have shorter commutes. This could lead to less people owning cars and opening parking. Also good for people going grocery shopping. I like it.

Depending on your needs, I think that is a bargain. As well, being female, I am reluctant to hop into a strangers vehicle. I think the price of fuel would also affect the price and I would think the $200 to be just an introductory price tag.

The question is what determines the rates for rides which would guarantee they'd remain under $15 for the month? In the case that most rides remain under $15 then this could make sense but the actual cost of the ride is market based. Then again if cars become self driving this service could begin to make much more sense than owning a car.

Serious I go with your questions, but I just think it is a market strategy to beat off other competitors available around in the transport industry. Not withstanding it is a welcome development at least one will spend less for those on low income and will go everywhere of importance without needing to own a car and fuel it. For the question as to what determines the rates of the ride, I think they should have worked it out because I am sure no one wants to make loss in business.

I hadn't heard about the subscription service but I may consider it.

I moved to Los Angeles without a car and lyft and uber have been spectacular. I hate driving in the traffic here and have come to realize that in my past I carried 2000 lbs of steel with me wherever I went! I felt liberated without a car but I have to admit that the cost of rides was piling up but it was much cheaper than a car payment, insurance, registration and fuel.

$200 a month is a great price and my rides are all under $15.00. But, I don't even spend $200 a month on rides right now so I'd really have to think about it.

Monthly subscription for a car ride will beneficial for people like who live on a budget. This will good deal for parents who can subscribe for their kids.

I think it also makes sense for people living in big cities and maybe for people into crypto. Imagine the day when these ride sharing services accept Bitcoin or Steem?

Looking forward with our future with crypto. I just don't how it will work since value always fluctuate.

If you rent your parking spot it could pay for your rides for a month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79