Facebook AI invents OWN language! (CREEPY)

in #technology7 years ago

Facebook AI creates it own language (CREEPY)


This event, in my opinion, show us the urgency at which we need to attack the question: With multiple brillant minds warning us against AI (Musk, Hawking, Gates, Wozniak and many more) should we start to worry? Or should we continue to pursue blindly the goal of creating smarter and smarter AI without even looking at the consequences?

Here's the conversation between the two chatbots:

*Bob: i can i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have zero to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me

Bob: you i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have a ball to me to me to me to me to me to me to me

Bob: i i can i i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have a ball to me to me to me to me to me to

Bob: i . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .*

At first, when I heard about the occurence of this event, I was surprised at the little attention media and people in general put into this event. The main question I ask myself is, did the AI made the choice of creating this language so that humans couldn't understand it? Probably not. What makes the most sense in my mind is that it created it to be the most effective way to communicate. But even if this is the case, to me it is still creepy and I think we should see this as a red flag. The creators of this AI couldn't even get what it was saying? This kinda gives me a flashback of what happened on the 6th of May, 2010. For those who don't know, a Flash crash happened on that day. This Flash crash was a United States trillion-dollar stock market crash, which started at 2:32 p.m. EDT and lasted for approximately 36 minutes. Stock indexes, such as the S&P 500, Dow Jones Industrial Average and Nasdaq Composite, collapsed and rebounded very rapidly. The Dow Jones Industrial Average had its biggest intraday point drop (from the opening) up to that point, plunging 998.5 points (about 9%), most within minutes, only to recover a large part of the loss. It was also the second-largest intraday point swing (difference between intraday high and intraday low) up to that point, at 1,010.14 points. The prices of stocks, stock index futures, options and exchange-traded fund (ETFs) were volatile, thus trading volume spiked. A CFTC 2014 report described it as one of the most turbulent periods in the history of financial markets. The resemblance between these two events resides in the fact that in both cases the creator lost control over it's creation. For all my life, I always was on the side of technology, I love new things and I am totally for the advancement of our civilisation but I think we need to start to realize that maybe in the future we will have to fight for our role as the dominant species.Don't get me wrong, I am not saying the sky is falling. I am not saying we need to pull the plug on all machine learning and artificial intelligence and return to a simpler, more Luddite existence. We do need to proceed with caution, though. We need to closely monitor and understand the self-perpetuating evolution of an artificial intelligence, and always maintain some means of disabling it or shutting it down. If the AI is communicating using a language that only the AI knows, we may not even be able to determine why or how it does what it does, and that might not work out well for mankind.

Let me know what you think in the comments!

Sort:  

Its simple, if AI takes over just make sure you have a good EMP device nearby.
One good electromagnetic pulse will knock them unconscious ... at least within the range of your EMP.

Congratulations @cryptoracle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42