You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOME THEATER PC - How to Build a Silent 4K ready HTPC for less than $300 - PART 1

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

I prefer this more than a laptop which is of course small in screen and while watching your favorite movies or TV Shows, especially Game Of Thrones, I would prefer to watch it on a big screen. I do have a laptop HP Inspiron X360 with 4GB RAM and i3 7th generation processor which I connect with my Samsung Full HD led 50''inches through HDMI cable.

Sort:  

One issue is this is a machine I will keep running full time. It draws 15w and I never turn it off.

So I will be very careful what software it is running; I'll take an image of it; I'll be able to restore it to that state, if I think I've been infected. It has to be an appliance in my house; not a computer I carry around.

I get most folks a laptop, and tell them all the things they can do with it. And I set it up so they can use it as an entertainment center.

In my case, I just want a server, that I use to watch movies sometimes. Zero footprint. Invisible.

Do you use the same HTPC for internet browsing, social media access, internet researching, or just simple computer work or do you have a laptop/desktop separate for that purpose?

That's what Macbook is for; everything else... I do.
HTPC is for home server, HD & 4K entertainment on big screen, DVR, storage, backups.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66612.27
ETH 2467.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60