Upgrading iPhone 6 ⏩ iPhone 8 - Worth it ??? 🤔🤔

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

Hi Fellow Steemers ... just a quick post for those of you with an iPhone 6 or earlier, wondering whether its time to upgrade? 🧐

I faced the same dilemma this previous week... My iPhone 6 battery is toast 🍞🔥 and apple wanted to take my phone for 15 days in order to change the battery... That's ridiculous by the way 😡

My choices then:

  1. Get new battery for my iPhone 6
  2. Get an iPhone X
  3. Get an iPhone 8
  4. Get a Samsumg Galaxy S8 (S9 not available yet)

After alot of playing around I scratched out the Samsumg just given how unfamiliar it felt 😕. The iPhone X wasn't much better for me either. So I stuck with the iPhone 8... After a week I'm extremely happy with that choice 😬. Coming from an iPhone 6, the 8 feels alot more polished and premium 💍. Also the switch over was very simple, took me about 2 hours to do via itunes.

After selling the old iPhone 6, my net cost for the upgrade was about $500, which isn't too bad. I would recommend die hard apple fans, still on an older device than the 6, to consider upgrading... it was definitely worth it for me. 🤠

Let me know what you would have choose? 🤔

mine.png

Sort:  

I would definitely consider switching over to Android. The Galaxy S9 is a fine phone with all of the features you could ever want. It has the latest Qualcomm processor and a bunch of neat new bluetooth tricks. I think it is the most future-proof phone you can buy right now. There's also plenty of trade in offers to help lower the price you'd pay on it. Of course the One Plus 5T is also a great phone at a much better price if you just need something to do the job. If you want something truly groundbreaking, I have a strong feeling that some interesting phones will be coming out later this year. Check out my latest post for more info! (Sorry for the horrible plug, but I hope my comments will help you make an informed decision!)

that Vivo does look amazing

Would have gotten a new battery and put the money for the upgrade intro crypto. But that's just me. :D Iphone 6 would have been good enough for me for at least a year or two from now.

fair point... lol I can see you a die hard crypto fan 😎

Yeah, with the amount of fiat I earn there is zero chance I would be able to buy myself a lambo. With crypto, you never know... 500$ can go a long way. :D

fingers crossed 🤞... one day

The iPhone X is awful and I worked at an apple store part time a while back to make extra money and it's just a terrible company all around. I would recommend going for the galaxy s8 or waiting a few months for the s9 because that phone looks amazing.

Having said that if you really like the iPhone then go for the 8 over the X, the X just isn't worth it to me.

i agree on the iphone X... i'm quite disappointed with that... why do you say that apple is a terrible company??? I very curious about that because I thought it was generally very well run???

Yes sir its a better idea to upgrade to ios 8.

iPhone x Create beautiful selfies with sharp foregrounds and artfully blurred backgrounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24