You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Linux Mint Installation Tutorial - Full Install in 10 Minutes!

in #technology7 years ago

I destroyed Windows 98 on a laptop by doing duel boot with Linux (I learned later that the duel-boot software that came with the Linux version had a know defect) - about 10 years ago.

Then a couple years ago, a bad hard-drive sector took down my Windows XP desktop. So I hunted around for a while on the Internet for solutions, meanwhile I got an offer to recover my data for at least $280 from a friend's tech guy. So I decided to try Ubuntu Linux.

Ubuntu is very easy to install on a bootable flashdrive. And Linux is great for recovery data from my a damaged hard drive. I recovered everything and ran my computer on (or as) a flashdrive for about a year. An install of Ubuntu on a new hard drive went flawlessly.

I will never go back. Ubuntu has its quirks, but it is so stable.

Sort:  

I would buy a bunch of USB stick and DVD's and back up my data every weekend if I were you. You can never be too careful with digital assets.

I was thinking of going back to DVD's. I back up onto an external personal cloud drive, but I don't trust the mechanical reliability of it.

I'd worry more about their privacy intrusion. I'd encrypt the files before uploading them.

"Personal cloud" is just a silly name for a backup drive that sends data over your home wifi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54