A Whole New Experience in a Whole New World of Technology

in #technology6 years ago

I swear I’m not living under a rock but I was very surprised about the new adventure I had last January 8!

I went to the SMX Convention Center located at Pasay City, Metro Manila with my cousin who owns an architecture and construction business. I thought we were just going for a post birthday celebration for me. But to my even greater surprise we were attending day 3 out of the 5 days of the convention held there.

The event was called “PHILCONSTRUCT”. Such a monumental gathering was already happening and I was just knowing this now I said once I entered the venue. It was there where several countries gathered showcasing the modern feats of construction and ingenuity of today’s handyman. I tagged along for the ride feeling a bit like a fish out of water.

26754427_1743353055685531_1515179598_n.jpg

Philconstruct

Please forgive my lack of knowledge about the technical words and term I’ll be using about what I claim to saw and understand while I was inside the convention. I really lack the interest for matters like this but what sparked my interest to blog about it was my realizations after it so please bear with me on this one.

My time there was surprisingly entertaining, although we didn’t get to attend the seminars because we were pressed for time. My cousin was more interested looking at the companies and manufactures he tried to absorb the latest innovations in the construction business around the world.

There were different brand and stalls filling the room some were Meiji, Adco-blue, Top-rigid, Smart house, Scheider, Bosch, Stanley and other too many to name. There where tools and heavy equipment as far as I can see, frankly I don’t even know their names plus there were new high end models of drills, sanders, pressurized coaters and measuring tape.

26803420_1743352859018884_1048967017_n.jpg

I was surprised that the field of construction from several countries where so far advance from what I regularly see here at the Philippines. Green friendly houses which uses concrete mixed with Styrofoam balls which give less weight with no cost to durability while also making it more fireproof.

I also saw container houses which seem to be a great idea to me here at the Philippines. It’s low cost and quite spacious than the average studio type rooms used for dorms. I was even stumped to see a huge robot built form broken construction tools by Bosch.

26803847_1743352925685544_1314344292_n.jpg

Be a Maker

Closing to the end of our time there my attention was grabbed by an infomercial from the TV screen near me. There I saw a man who was working with tools. He was taking about how he was fascinated by making things. He customized everything in his house.

From tables, chairs, walls and anything you can see in a house he had a better personalized version of it. He was very creative, from different knickknacks he even interior designed his house. He wasn’t just a carpenter or a handy man. He was and artist on my book.

The commercial ended as he stated his name and profession. He said he was a Maker. That they made me see construction in a new light. I have a new found appreciation for the men who plan, build and fix our houses. It is not an easy job but I get a small understanding from that day that is a very fulfilling and worthwhile.

Thank you for your interest! :) God bless!

Sort:  

My father is a carpenter. Ever since I was young, I have always remembered how busy he was making samples of everything, from fashion accessories to furniture, and even building a house! You are right. Making something out of the sweat of our hands and ingenuity should be appreciated.

Im with you on that . My grand father is a handy man as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90