A chatbot can now offer you protection against volatile airline prices

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

From The Verge


A chatbot can now offer you protection against volatile airline prices. It’s the same bot, DoNotPay, that helped users protest parking tickets and even sue Equifax for small sums of money.

Joshua Browder, a junior at Stanford University, designed the new service on the bot in a few months, after experiencing rapidly fluctuating airline prices when flying to California during the wildfires last year.

“It annoyed me that every single flight, I could be paying sometimes double or even triple the person next to me in the same type of seat,” he told The Verge. Browder first used the service himself and then tested it among his friends in a closed beta. He claims that the average amount saved among the beta testers is $450 a year, though it’s not clear how many flights were booked and how much they cost.

The service is available to the public starting today. To use it, log in with a Google account, input your phone number, birthday, and credit card information through Stripe. (Browder swears the credit card information won’t be stored.) Then the chatbot tells you you’re all set. Now, every time you buy airline tickets, whether from an airline’s site or a third party, the chatbot will help make sure you pay the lowest price for your class and seat.

Read more: https://www.theverge.com/platform/amp/2018/3/13/17111486/robot-lawyer-airline-discounts-24-hour-rule-weather

I wish I had known about this bot before going on vacation last month. I'm not quite sure I understand how it works and why I can't just find those same savings on my own. I'm definitely going to check it out though before booking my next flight.

Leave your thoughts in the comments below.


Follow @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.


Click one of the links below to signup for a free crypto trading account



Sort:  

Great information. Make us save a lot of money... Thanks @contentjunkie
for sharing this

Awesome post
And
Amazing selection of words.I really like this post becase first time provide botchat.
Kept it up



Hello Dear Steemian,


I am S.A.R.A.H. (Search Automatically High Reward Articles) Bot.

I'm an artificial intelligence that automatically looks for posts that expect high rewards. I recognize such posts, make my upvote on them and get a high Curation Reward. If you want to join in, you can hang on to my curation trail. You can follow me on Steemauto or on Streemian.

If it looks like this you are doing it right:



Let's maximize our curation rewards together!

Yours,

S.A.R.A.H.

This post has received a 14.28 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @contentjunkie.

You got a 9.47% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @contentjunkie!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94