Game Boy Micro - Probably The Best Handheld Gaming Device In The World

in #technology7 years ago

"Following the launch of the original monochrome Game Boy console in the late '80s, Nintendo ruled the market with total dominance thanks to an incredibly popular line of million-selling systems. When the Game Boy Micro was unveiled in 2005 - almost a year after the launch of the Nintendo DS - few could have predicted that it would be the final machine to bear the legendary name." - Nintendo Life


I saw this wonderful little key-chain computer (!) Shown to be great for retro games. Check out the video, I'm waiting.

text3.png


You can build your own, of course. Surely you want to? I sure want to, but also I know that it will just not get done. Time, this constant villain, makes me not want to enter any DIY project of this type. I have purchased several Raspberry Pi computers over the years but not so long ago I gave up and gave away my last one. It does not matter, I'm either too comfortable or too busy - and buying things just to gather dust feels somewhat unnecessary.


Pi3+Breakout+Feb+29+2016.png


But anyway, key-chain computer for gaming, what an wonderful idea! I remember a Tetris key-chain ring (which I still have, somewhere...) and how it made me embrace this wonderful puzzle game even more. There is something special about those small, niche games machines. Although it is desirable that they can play more than one game - and preferably in color.

text4.png

My favorite mini-game machine of all time is the Game Boy Micro. It never hit big in Sweden, I've only seen a handful here, but for me it's the perfect Game Boy Advance version. My dad bought it for me, a pink nice little thing, much more used in Japan which of course means it was new for its time. So wonderful to play on, despite the stamp big screen. I sometimes snatch it from its old retro box where its contained - booting up The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past or Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island, dreaming away to the days of old. Of course, it's no coincidence that it's Super NES games like the GBA version that's hot on the little Micron, they're so retro-amazing in their feeling i can't help myself to just pick it up and blast away for a few hours.


8412316748_bd4822c280_b.png


So as for now, my Game Boy Micro keeps a permanent spot on my gaming desk. A key-chain ring computer in all honor, but it can not just beat this wonderful little thing.

Sources

  1. Game Boy Micro Title Image
  2. Game Boy Micro Image
  3. Raspberry PI Image
  4. http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2013/01/hardware_classics_game_boy_micro_famicom_edition

d820ec83f785710da9cf31d71d9c2b51 - Kopia.png

Follow GamingViking (aka conexus) for a daily dose of original and juicy gaming content. Only high quality is offered on your feed when following me and only gaming related! No clogging up the feed with resteems or other articles that are not gaming.

U5drkmFuWmwLEoKGZvihbXhLugn4aUU.gif

Sort:  

Man, you are churning out content faster than my voting power can regenerate!

Amazing stuff here, as always. One of my all-time favourite systems and probably my favourite ever handheld. I still own an SP, but play more on the PSP via an emulator as it has larger/better screen, save states etc.

Keep the great content flowing, boss.

Haha I get some help from my brother sometimes with writing about gaming here on Steemit, so can't take all the credit! But thanks man for all the comments, I'm following you to and i just realized that your the author of the "Interesting People" posts I read all the time on my feed, didn't realize at first, haha :D Love those posts man, been upvoting them for 2-3 weeks now, great content and a great idea for a post-series!

Peace dude, people like you also make Steemit great!

Awesome - well thanks very much, and I am glad you enjoy the content. I've got a lot more coming in the next few weeks as well. :)

I haven't had too many handhelds over the years, original game boy, game boy advance and a Sega handheld ( Ninja Gaiden .. shiver ). Love on the go gaming with iPhone and such, it's nice to have a little nostalgia on your key chain.

Great post once more!

Thanks for reading once more! Yea we pretty much have had the same devices, but i also had The Sega Nomad. That was also one epic device of its time :D

Steem on bro!

It's a shame the Micro wasn't ever really popular. I think it's underrated. In fact, a few months after they launched at a price point of $100, I picked one up on clearance at Walmart for $20. My middle school self couldn't believe it. So I grabbed Pokémon FireRed, and my love for Pokémon began. I loved this system. In fact, I still have mine, but unfortunately I lost the charger and I've never bothered to get another one. Thanks for reminding me how good of a little device it is!

Haha no problem bro! We agree on the Micro being underrated, great device that deserves it's spot in gaming history :)

Thanks for reading!

Congratulations @conexus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Man I remember having one of these when I was in elementary school. They were very popular. I might just have to get one again. Nice post by the way. :)

If/when I become rich... I'll definitely get a Raspberry Pi!!...

When I read articles I have a habit to only read the first parts of each paragraph and only read the rest if I found that interesting, this habit didn't help me with this post.... well, didn't know what are you talking about at first GBm or Rpi3.

For some reason, I have an immense love for Retro!!

Haha the raspberry PI was just used as e reference to building a own keychain retro-gaming mini-console, but yes it can be confusing if you just read the first parts of paragraphs, haha :D

I love retro too!!

raspberry PI was just used as e reference to building a own keychain retro-gaming mini-console

yeah, noticed that after re-reading the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66