Mail call! I finally got my RFID reader/writer!

in #technology6 years ago

Good morning my friends! Today I am beyond excited, because I finally got my RFID reader/writer and the writable tags in the mail! This is a package i have been anxiously waiting to see for a few weeks now, so this is a great day.

Upon opening the box, several of these little tags fell out 6F824409-E6A4-456A-9B8F-8DDABEDD7DCB.jpeg
I was in a hurry and didn’t realize they were loose in the box, but there is a lot of plastic coating them so no harm done. I like the keychain tags for private key storage in my workshop so I can hang them from a key rack which will be labeled accordingly. The package I ordered came with 10 of these type of tags.

A little more digging in the box and I found this little gem hiding out under a flap: 9336B658-31A8-492F-8803-91F7CAF6FC17.jpeg
A card-style tag! I like this idea for triggering a relay(or a few of them), which I will program to turn on my porch light and lock the doors in my house. This way it will function as a “night mode”, and the amount of steps I have to take at night to secure the house is lessened. (I love modern conveniences!!)

I also bought another style of tag a while ago, 75ABA858-EAAE-43BD-B773-F2EC1FF4FECA.jpeg which come on a sticker. My idea for this style of tag is to put my WiFi details on it for guests to connect easily without sacrificing security on my network, as well as URL’s that I’d like my guests to visit. (Attractions in the area, Airbnb listings, and crypto addresses so guests can tip for services when we open our rentals!)

And last but definitely not least:65DBDA74-9A10-4ED2-A1D9-AFE5CAF32F63.jpeg
The reader/writer that makes all these projects and MANY more possible!! In the future I’ll be looking to integrate these tags and my raspberry pi boards, as well as a variety of other applications as I discover them!
Any cool ideas involving these tags? What strikes your techno-fancy? Leave a comment, give me an idea, whatever you like, as long as we #growtogether.

Until next time,
—ColdLogic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78