Gartner Hype Cycle for Emerging Technologies 2016: Would You Place Them in the Same Spots?

in #technology7 years ago

Do you believe in Gartner's Hype Cycle model? Personally, I think it's a fairly good model of the typical technology adoption time evolution (for disruptive technologies, at least).

The infographic below was published in July 2016. Note that not only it predicts in which adoption stage is a technology, but also how long it will take for the technology to become productive/mainstream in business terms. 

Image Credit

I am somewhat familiar with a few of them, namely Drones and Autonomous Vehicles, Blockchains,  Enterprise Taxonomy and Ontology Management. Broadly speaking, I kind of agree with Gartner's predictions on those ones in terms of where they sit on the hype cycle. However, I think the evolution will be somewhat faster than predicted, in particular for Blockchains and Ontology Management. 

One interesting aspect which is not analyzed in the graph is the synergy potential between technology areas. For example, blockchains and IoT have obvious powerful synergies, so if one of the two picks up faster than expected, it might also boost the other.    

What are your views on the hype cycle for the technologies displayed? 

Sort:  

I am somewhat familiar with the CONCEPT of smart dust , I use it in my book that I am serializing on Steemit. I had no idea that it was that far along.

Interesting...I know nothing about it :-)

the concept of smart dust is a form of intelligent matter..
I thought that was all it was,
a concept.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Virtual reality is the future...might just kill TVs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83