You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Automation: An age of unseen prosperity

in #technology8 years ago

Incredible article. I read about baxter recently. Not only a cheap robot but he can be programmed very easily to do many different tasks that currently cost quite a lot in the form of employees. I do wonder however what impact this will have on those who are not fully aware the age of automation is upon us. Will they continue to make money from jobs that will soon be replaced by robots ? Will they prosper ?
Thank you for the article. A very enjoyable read.

Sort:  

I'm often amazed at how difficult people find it to see into the future or into the past, to get an idea of what will happen based on current trends, but then I realise how much time I've spent learning to do those things, and how esoteric they really are. Most people don't spend their time trying to piece together facts, to infer trends, to project those trends, and then combine those trends to see how they will interact. Unfortunately, that may mean many people will suffer, being shocked into the new reality instead of easing themselves into it.

I'm sure most of these people will prosper eventually, but the future is always going to be a lot easier for the people who can see it coming.

@churdtzu, I agree... many don't and won't see this exponential future coming... that may mean many people will suffer, but that's where all of us come in ... guys, we can and must do our best to prevent unnecessary pain and suffering to so many people. I probably sound like Captain Planet here, "with our powers combined", lol -, but, seriously - thank you for sharing and writing this stuff with us all and making more of us aware. I do believe that it is up to us to create a future that is one in which we will be proud of... I think that it's our responsibility now, guys and gals, to help do everything that we can together to make the future bright for everyone, not just those of us who are aware...

I just made my first post about how I was feeling with regards to stuff like this. I look forward to seeing what we can all come up with to take massive action.

peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70