Bots Can Now Write Articles

in #technology5 years ago

.....and they're pretty good at it too

Hey JessAI

A while back I wrote a post about how automation will eventually kick our asses out of the job market and how rudimentary tasks are going to be a thing of the past.

While creative jobs like writing may be less affected well that may have been true to an extent until I came across the Open AI project funded by our saviour and chief Elon Musk.

In Elon we Musk!

Bots are starting to take over writing jobs and if you're a journalist or content creator you may want to start looking at upskilling in other ways before you get shit canned. There have been report that the Washington Post has already published 500 articles written by AI and I recently found a marketing blog that is created by an AI.

We're slowly getting skynetted and no one bats an eye until self-driving cars start telling us to fuck off and walk you lazy slow human I think people will not notice and get blindsided once it takes full effect.

I think each time a niche AI is created there should be an impact study done and we need to look at how we roll out this technology in each sector. AI can naturally learn more from humans and begin to refine the tech while humans can find other outlets to transition to in a smooth process that shouldn't just put people out on their ass.

automation-featured.jpg

Image source: - rubyshore.com

Bot Journalism

It's not only the Washington post that's trying out this new tech but The Guardian as well as Vox. While i'm impressed at the level of quality that these AI are spitting out It also shows how shitty journalists are and that they write cold methodic content that can be replicated and show no sense of personality.

We all know journalism is bias so own that shit and write something that's a decent replication of your thoughts and facts and not to sensationalise things, that was the job, I guess that just doesn't get the clicks it needs to sell ad space does it? Churn em out is the way to go!

Which is probably why we will we see a new age of robot reporters doing all the heavy lifting with a few editors moderating this new workforce.

AI reporters can scour millions of sources as well as user-generated content online to formulate opinions and provide facts with source material attached and do it in the fraction of a time a human can do it in, so why wouldn't publishers opt for this service?

I can see this working out for bloggers as well as sites looking for regular content and landing page content. It really has some crazy applications that could put a lot of freelancers out of a job and save site owners a ton on content spend.

With great power comes great responsibility

I think the president has to be set now on how we govern robot content creation and that it needs to be clearly marked. While content will be created by bots it's consumed by humans and their reaction to it can have an effect on perceptions and by in large the world.

Readers need to made aware of bot content as we do sponsored content and not to mention accountability, who takes responsibility for bot content that incites violence or misinforms people where they lose money or even their lives?

Bot content will surely have its place on the internet but we're going to need to be careful about how it's dispersed, curated and consumed.

Have your say

What are you afraid of? what is holding you back from your goal?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeGet A STEEM account
blocktrades.jpgLikecoinsteemninja.jpg
Sort:  

Artificial intelligence is finally taking control over which will have side effect. Actually this bots have their own good but they will also have their own effect

Well I guess we won’t know until we let them lose on the world right? It just shows no occupation is really safe from automation these days

Posted using Partiko iOS

Plumbers are pretty safe. Lots of "less prestigious" jobs that require skills moving through three-dimensional space and unpredictable chaotic environments. Information processing (myself included) is in trouble on many levels, but machines still suck at climbing stairs and opening doors. One example is rescue robots at Fukoshima nuclear plant site. And re: writing articles - you said it, journalists need to step up their game. Human language is made up of rules and patterns of syntax, but only human brains can use those tools to express original IDEAS. And that is going to hold true for at least a while.

I would agree in legacy homes yes plumbers would be safe but what about new homes and living spaces being built where things can be compartmentalized and made easier for a bot could do the job? Hotels and such could be going this way, anything at scale would see bot use.

WHile there will still be work for sure, its going to be harder to come by im sure of it. I agree jounalists have been coasting in many avenues and if they're not careful to build an audience, reputation and really show their worth what really makes them different from a bot writing it or even creating videos? I see AI videos are also becoming a thing

We are surely living in interesting times @adenijiadeshina

Yours
Piotr

The future is scary. I used to be an optimist when younger. I wonder whether it's just the "aging observer effect" or is the world really becoming a more unstable, less predictable hence riskier place ?

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a theory over 50% of Twitter is bots reacting

I would second that theory, the same with Instagram and then people wonder why an influencer with 2 million followers can’t sell more than 36 t-shirts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don’t think it’s just the aging observer if many younger people are already waking up to what’s happening! The pursuit of profit at all costs by big tech has put A.I. to use in ways that may be helpful but without proper due diligence on its effects on people and the market it’s always going to upset the Apple cart

I think that it will probably go unchecked until something huge blows up in our faces for us to get to a point where we like how did we let this happen let’s start ring fencing A.I.! I mean if it can create value and displace human capital it has to live by some rules!

This tech could serve to further push the 1% higher up while leaving the rest even further behind if we don’t look at ways to use the value this tech creates to actually help mankind as a collective

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @sorin.cristescu

Future indeed is scary and fascinating. Reality is that this world would collapse if there would not be enough of jobs for people. Regulators could clamp down on AI very easily in the future, simply targeting companies that are behind them.

Many of us believed that blockchain is unstoppable and yet, just 2 years later this industry has been completely dominatedby regulations. Same may happen with AI.

We are surely living in interesting times.

Yours
Piotr

Hi @chekohler

Well, everything you say in your publication I can summarize in this comment says it all.
I think it is absolutely right that the AI learns from humans, but humans will always be able to solve any problem that the AI presents, we just have to closely follow everything that the AI entails.
Thank you for your publication Where you are absolutely right, I sent my greetings to Jessie

I really hope so, I kind of have this idea that AI will just take over and move on because well they are more advanced, they won't need us, they can explore the galaxy and we're just giving birth to this new race of person

Dear @chekohler

I must admit that this title got my attention right away :) Great clickbait buddy.

Bots are starting to take over writing jobs and if you're a journalist or content creator you may want to start looking at upskilling in other ways before you get shit canned.

That's very true. Bots will surely be able to create valuable (not meaning interesting to read) publications. But would bots also manage to build solid followerbase around them? I think this would be the biggest challenge for "automated writters".

I personally wouldn't bother to spent much time reading content created and publiced on account, which I would consider not being human. Steemit proved that people do not care much about quality content. They care about supporting authors they recognize and they like.

So those who know how to build community around them should be fine. Obviously other writters can be threaten. At the same time bloggers usually work for very little (especially those from 3rd world countries) and hiring them can be still easier and cheaper than paying for software / bots.

We're slowly getting skynetted and no one bats an eye until self-driving cars

I'm not sure how many people would actually be brave enough to use self-driving cars. Surely hype will be there. But wait until few people will die because of hacks into car computer system. That thing is dangerous as hell. Once people will realize that their lifes are in danger and that will be crushing blow to this industry.

ps.
I noticed that you're receiving some decent amounts of PAL every few hours:

Received 0.741 PAL from tokens

ps.2.
I tried to find PAL coin aidrop and claim some tokens but I failed. Could you point me in right direction?

Yours
Piotr

Yip, I've been using PAL to find and curate content with 50/50 there's an incentive for me to do so and not just try to post my life away lol. You can find a tutorial on how to claim your PAL here

Hello @chekohler, Thanks for sharing this great topic.

Wooo friend, really the AI does not stop surprising us, I do not know if we should worry or be happy about the advances in this artificial technology, but I guess you are right in what you say, artificial intelligence is replacing many humans from their jobs.

I would like to know if you have some statistics of this?

Thanks friend, very good reading.

man is going to be bow under technology but we need it

I'm pretty sure we're either going to bow to technology or we will have to assimilate ourselves into it and become one new hybrid species

It is scary
But let’s all remember it’s not thinking
The bot I mean
It just remembers patterns and how to react. It can only write because if it’s memory
It can’t be original it can only act as programmed.

At the risk of putting on my tin foil hat I think all these niche AIs will eventually form part of what becomes general A.I. and simulate the human experience on many levels!

While it may not be able to think it can mimic it to a point where we can’t even tell if they are programming or thinking! Especially if it comes to a point where it can edit and update its own code base

Call me crazy but skynet doesn’t look like such a wacky idea anymore

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello buddy!
This article is very current and interesting, I loved it ...

We continue to appreciate how robotics with AI continues to occupy the spaces and activities that traditionally correspond to human beings. But is not this precisely the purpose of developing AI?

Then we should not worry too much. As long as the creators do not stop putting all these robots a panic button or a "Master Shutdown Button" ... hehehehe ...

It's fascinating how the AI has progressed. It's amazing to think how "She" has learned so much. He has managed to cover the "Fine Arts".

The first painting created with artificial intelligence was sold for $ 432,500.

Headlines like these should worry or cheer us up?

I think that we are right to be worried that our way of life will completely change if you don't think you can adapt to it, those who are open to it and can think outside the box will thrive in the new economy those who are creative or can work with their hands. I think AI will do alot of the tasks we dont want to do to free up time to create things we want to do

While this isn't the same for everyone some like being told what to do and just do it for cash and those will be the ones who feel the affects the most, Its going to take a huge mind shift for us to get used to it and we will also need fail safes and regulations in place I agree. Master shut down button is a must

I suppose they must be free. In other words, those who install one of these bots should not have to pay any kind of salary, compensation or liquidation. Or is it?

And I suppose the material from which they extract the information must be the internet itself. Because I don't think those robots are going to my country to see the pollution situation of a particular lake, or are present in a war taking note of the activity. So I guess the real articles won't be made by robots, I mean sports articles, interviews, etc. Where a level of expertise is required to get a good story, I don't think they will.

When one of those robots gets depressed and wants to kill itself, then I'll start worrying.

I still don't believe in I.A. for something scary. Excellent article

Thanks for sharing

Well they are run on huge big data servers so I'm sure it would be some sort of paid subscription by open AI for publishers to use them

The bots will scrape not only articles but social media posts and any information it can find across various sources to create content. You can set the parameters too. I saw someone try to combine an SEO guide with the lyrics of Beyonces Lemonade album and the AI was able to write lyrics for it, it was actually quite impressive and hilarious too

We'll just have to see how it eventually all plays out, time will tell but I don't think there's any stopping AI now

That's impressive! Could AI win a music award?

It reminds me of a science fiction movie of a very famous and very reserved singer, who turned out to be an AI.

We're living the future

Lol Would we even know the difference by then? would we maybe even upload ourselves into the internet or put AI in our brains to help us? Possibilities may sound crazy now but not impossible

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72