Failing Cable Networks Move to Price Gouge on Internet Provision in Order to Stay Relevant

in #technology7 years ago

This past month in the news there has been uproar about keeping the internet free and essentially a utility in order to avoid price gouging and monopolization by providers. Under Title II legislation, providers are kept in check so they cant charge obscene amounts of money or throttle certain services and how they connect. Despite providers already throttling illegally because they know the FCC wont crack down on them under current leadership, they are lobbying to move forward with removing Title II in order to boost profits. Why is it so important that providers boost profit now more than ever?

In the last 10 years, especially in the last 5, we have seen large scale exodus from cable companies and people who subscribe to cable and phone services. The problem is most internet providers ultimately provide television as well and the lost in profit from that sector has to be made elsewhere. Instead of investing in better infrastructure, these providers are simply raising the price to ridiculous levels and because the market is mostly a monopoly or duopoly in most areas, they are getting away with it. The only people these companies care about are stockholders and if they start to lose profit, they will scare off investors.

In the end the customer is the one who suffers. We have mostly already lost the battle for internet freedom because the barrier to entry for new cable companies is so expensive and high. This leaves the existing companies the only ones who can offer infrastructure to provide a service. Netflix, torrenting and applications like popcorn time have hurt the cable companies in irreversible ways and they aren’t going to take that. If they could have it their way, they would crack down on p2p apps and free ways to get content, which is what we are already seeing in places like the UK. Netflix is at risk of being throttled simply because they compete with the cable companies themselves.

The internet must remain a utility or else the way we do everyday work will change before our eyes. Cable will continue to die and when this happens, the providers will go after move and move in order to keep profits. They already expect us to pay a large amount of money each month for television and then on top of that show us half the run time in advertisements? The current generation does not want advertisements if they pay and that is not going to change. The current elderly generations will put up with it, but in the future they will not.

I think what we will end up seeing is specific channels offering deals and having users opt in through something like a streaming device via the internet. Most people only watch a few channels anyway, so those offering good content will get people to sign on. Unless these cable companies change what they are doing, they will continue to suck money out of the internet provision side of the business and breach our rights. If we do nothing, we can look forward to a future of them selling our data, blocking p2p communication or file sharing and throttling services from sites like youtube and Netflix. This is not the way forward to a better and free internet.


Thanks to @Elyaque for the badges

Sort:  

many countries try to increase the speed of internet with this new technology and new fiber cables @calaber24p

Good post keep up the good work... @calaber24p

Will isps ever learn? Until they give us what we want, we gonna find it one way or another.

You always appear with a very good post master @ calaber24p

you got it exactly backwards.
but you know that.
so there's no point in discussing it.

What amazes me about the cable companies is the true bait and switch pricing of the service. I've had Dish network for the past 4 years and when my credit card expired recently I realized how much I have been paying for Dish in the past year. The bill originally started at $80 a month and last month it was up to $147. I knew it had gone up, but really hadn't paid attention. That's a drastic difference. I realized this was my 4th highest bill currently behind my mortgage, health insurance, student loans, and then tv service. It's hard to justify $5 a day for all these terrible reality tv shows and other garbage.

After talking to customer service I was able to get the bill back down to near my initial pricing and now I don't have so many useless channels to scroll through. The dude even kicked in a 6 month HBO subscription so I could watch game of thrones.

But the same goes for cable internet and dsl service. I have both at my house and a business cable internet connection at my warehouse. The gotcha pricing just keeps going up. Even when you have a contract for business services the company manages to find new fees to ding you with. I don't think any other bill other than my Obamacare plan that goes up by so many percentage per year.

It is interesting to hear so many that are complaining (rightly) on how high their cable bills are these days. While I don't live in Omaha, Nebraska (but I have family and friends there), I hear that in Omaha there are several different businesses providing cable services. No one really seems to be happy with any of the choices and all sound like they are too highly priced for what anyone really gets out of the contract.

I am thinking that maybe getting rid of cable and checking out movies from the library might be the best choice these days. What is great for me is that I have decades (my kids are adults now, so I have a little more time these days) of shows that I could watch for free since they aren't immediately on demand.

My hope is that we will give less and less to the corporations that think they rule this world, and more and more to our communities and families.

I turned off my t.v. in 1990. I was watching Dan Rather's CBS "news" and he had a segment where a very small screen to his right flashed lots of various violence around the world as he quickly related what was happening. That was over in a flash and while I wanted to remember everything that was said, I could not. In the end, he wasn't really interested in content or retention of content.

I feel very lucky that I can get my news from alternative media sites these days. I hate commercials and would be very disappointed, I think, in what is portrayed as "news" on the corporate media stations.

I use VPN and ride the Internet provider system because they sell expensive service and the only way to get a cheaper connection is through a VPN.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80