A ban on fossil fuels to break our ICE addiction

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Paris 2030!
To top off the COP21 Agreement, Paris has recently committed to banning all internal combustion engine (ICE) cars in the city by 2030.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-france-paris-autos/paris-plans-to-banish-all-but-electric-cars-by-2030-idUSKBN1CH0SI

Imagine riding around the Arc de Triomphe with your mates on an army of electric scooters, or walking along the Seine in total peace and quiet with the low hustle and bustle of EVs, bicycles and pedestrians whirling around.

I recently spent three weeks in the city and took this photo while strolling around on my lunch break to catch some rays. For such a large and population dense city, I marvelled at how advanced and sustainable their transport system already was. Guess hardcore pollution problems really drive solutions!

Short-term bicycle and electric scooter rentals are in abundance, electric buses are super cute, small and efficient), trains run smoothly and the underground network is being expanded and strengthened as the city grows.

These are our future cities - quiet, sustainable, accessible, a green oasis - and I can't wait.


Meanwhile check out the sunrise out at our wind farm, I love my job endlessly.
Anyone who argues that fossil fuels generate jobs is in denial of the quality of these jobs - I know I'd much rather work in a beautiful field like this than a dirty underground coal mine or isolated offshore oil rig. Surely that can't just be me 😎

Caita out, until next time!

Sort:  

Good to see you back here. Nice post young lady.
@sultnpapper

You have been noticeably missing, but I see you re-steemed a Jerry B post yesterday. Hope you are doing so well that you just don't have the time to be on here. Take care, hopefully you will be back soon and posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48