iOS 11 saves photos as HIEF instead of JPG

in #technology7 years ago

Note: this only applies to iphone 7 and new Ipad


One thing new about iOS 11 is that it will save the photos in another format - namely HIEF "High Efficiency Image File Format". This format is meant to make photos smaller and have higher quality (hence the name, High efficiency). One disavantage of this format is that it's not compatible with most PCs.. or even macs!

I found out the hard way after downloading my photos from google photos. I use google photos on my iphone, and after downloading a few of these photos to share on steemit, i realised i can't even open them on my Mac! Thats insane!

Anyways. it turns out this format is better but it will take a while for the software end of things to catch up.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/9/19/16332192/apple-ios-11-heic-iphone-image-format

I recently upgraded to iOS 11 and will be sharing whats new and different with you guys!

Sort:  

Just updated my iphone 6s. I'm pretty happy so far. Thanks for your daily videos ob YT and dtube👍🏻 Just posted a drone video on dtube. Maybe you can check it out 😉

oh nice! dtube is great for drone stuff. I was posting some too!

I love TIFF, jpg never enlarges right.. hope this doesn't end up causing sharing issues... how will old OS's be able to read it?

i think so. it also auto converts when it gets transferred out of the device

@boxmining is it possible to turn off HIEF. Don't want to end up with corrupted pictures.

Yup its possible to turn it off in settings!

I didn't know that.. thank's for the info.

Congratulations @boxmining! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Will the new Mac OS High Sierra support the new format?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55