You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using AI to prevent suicide - Is AI ready?

in #technology7 years ago

Any solution that doesn’t address the root causes of suicide is only a bandaid.

I don’t profess to know what those root causes might be. It seems to me that an impersonal AI, while identifying a potential suicide, is not going to do much more than that.

Sort:  

You're completely right and I totally agree, good post. Without addressing the root causes it's not going to solve the problem, it will simply cover it up. I expect that the causes for suicide are extremely hard to identify even for a human and something I doubt could be solved with technology at this time, and potentially something you wouldn’t want technology involved in. With that said I do think that this technology is a step in right direction and the band-aid in this scenario will potentially be extremely valuable.

My main reason for this post is that I really like the way that a company is using the technology to better peoples lives and attempt to solve real-world problems. I myself work within AI and see endless companies creating solutions for profit and it's kind of refreshing to see it used like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52