You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Internet of things and what it is in laymen's terms

in #technology8 years ago

I am fascinated by the evolution of the IOT and the potential innovations that can be created. I love following some of the projects that I see being incredibly valuable.

Something like smart locks that would allow someone to send a "passord, 2step verification key" to someone who has been locked out of their house or car. Or would enable people to send a temporary key to people on airbnb without needing to worry about a physical key or changing a key code after a person leaves. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Smart Locks. And that is just the tip of the iceberg for the innovations to come.

I also worry about security if a device were to be hacked that allowed a person to gain entrance to someones house or car by using some sort of wireless sniffer. I believehe cyber security for IOT will be a multi-trillion dollar business as it becomes adopted mainstream.

I also wonder if the government could use this technology for both good and also like a "big brother" where they may have too much control.

Police could potentially disable cars or turn off motors with a master switch and if the switch was hacked would alert authorities to its position or police could scan for any car that is not transmitting a certain frequency and make an arrest for tampering.

But this could also be used to the extreme where our individual rights are affected. I believe we have a choice as to whether or not we wish to speed or go one mile an hour over the speed limit. Would government limit this choice? That may not be a great example, because I believe cars will eventually be automated, but I see the potential that government could use to abuse this system.

Either way, IOT is fascinating and I look forward to see what is in store for us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68911.49
ETH 2524.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53