Most of you probably believe in Climate Change but how many of you actually care?

in #technology7 years ago

As an energy professional I believe in climate change and care about the environment but how much I actually do about it could easily be questioned?

I want to use Steemit as a forum to really find out how to make people care about the environment and I mean really care enough to change their lives. I hope many of you can join me on this journey to attempt to do what many of the world's top scientists have failed to accomplish and that is connect the scientific world with the real life.

So my first question and really the crux of this whole ambitious project is to find out do you believe in climate change?.....or do you side with Trump?.......or are you somewhere in between?

Please let me know with a short comment on your views. Any feedback will help this journey.

Later I hope to explore if you actually care about it:

What you do to try and change the world?
What don't you want to change in your life?
What's the easiest habit we can adapt to make the most change?
What technologies are on the horizon?
What can Blockchain bring to the table?

Before you answer please read the article below

https://www.bloomberg.com/graphics/2015-whats-warming-the-world/

To me it's the best article I've ever found to convey the message of Climate Change let's hope it is for you to.

PS: It has some snazzy graphs which is entertaining in itself

[future inspiring tagline to go here]

Alex Kulesh

Sort:  

If you promise not to try to convince me otherwise, I promise not to try to convince you otherwise. I do take umbrage with your “...do you believe in climate change...or do you side with Trump). I do not believe climate change is a “thing”, but I have believed this long before Trump had a “wet dream” about being President. If you are curious about how I came my skepticism, I can expand my thoughts in a reply.

That being said, I believe in the decentralization of power production. We have to get more solar and small wind turbines on people’s homes. This could be achieved with tax incentives. I don’t believe Government (technologically inefficient) should throw money at large Energy Companies (monopolies). More Government is never the solution, and sometimes creates more problems.

As for myself, we use electricity as sparingly as possible. First we moved to the compact flouresecents and now LEDs as the CFLs give out. We also got rid of an older auto that got about 22 mpg to a newer one that gets about 35 mpg.

Thanks for the reply, I'd be very interested in hearing your thoughts on the subject. I'm not going to lie Trump was thrown in to get a bit of a rise but he is the extreme case of pure ignorance of a changing world. I would say the other extreme of radical change in human behaviour to completely reduce waste and energy use and live on a zero waste commune is not the ideal solution either.

I'd really like to find out what people really care about in this issue and your views on decentralization definitely hold true. My only counterpoint would be that it's always easier to build projects in scale as opposed to fragmented decentralization. How can we achieve the benefits of decentralization without mass adoption from the onset?

I base my skepticism on three things. The first is Science. I don’t know how old you are but I am of an age to remember when the “thing” was global cooling. Because of man made pollutants, we would end in ice and snow. Later, around the eighties, the “thing” became global warming. Only recently has the “thing” come to be called climate change (I assume this is open ended so victory can be claimed either way). The article you linked to mentions sixty some-odd models. I have read that there are so many models because at some point they fail to accurately predict. In other words, they may predict a change in climate seemingly man caused, but then fail in continuing that prediction into the future. I have also read that this has led to “massaged” data sets or “massaged” models. While I do believe something is going on, I think it is a natural cycle unrelated to anything mankind is doing. I am also of an age to remember when you could not walk out the door in several major major cities in the summer because of smog. So even if there was the slightest chance man was contributing, it has been alleviated since the seventies.

From a Poltical standpoint. The climate change movement is a political movement. It is anti-freemarket, anti-heavy industry, anti-progress, and anti-west. I see it as an attempt to cripple the US and the West and move benefits to countries that really have no desire to honor pollution control agreements (ie China and Russia). Heck, it’s Saudi money that mostly goes to anti-fracking operations

Climate change is a faith based system much like religion. If you are a skeptic you are labeled a “denier” ( much like a heretic). Even scientists who expresss a different opinion are pilloried and ridiculed. Obviously if you are right thinking you must believe!

I believe that nuclear power is the cleanest and most efficient solution, but that is not a popular position. I also believe that Government is too politicized to be believed, I don’t trust NASA to make any pronouncements on the subject. My own empirical experience with colder winters and cooler summers actually leads me to believe we are entering a “little ice age”.

Congratulations @barcakulesh, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @barcakulesh! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @barcakulesh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30