Guess What I Got Myself for Christmas!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

Now that it's the New Year and I've settled into my schedule with school, I suppose I could go ahead and post about the Christmas present I bought myself!

Sure, it's a little past Christmas, but better late than never. I present you: the Samsung Gear S3 Frontier.

First, let me say this thing is awesome. Battery life clocks in at around 40 hours, so it holds up great - even with the display set to Always On - for two days before I have to drop it on the charger. There's a magnet in the stand which keeps it in place, which is good; last thing I need is dealing with a micro-USB port getting loose in a watch.

A heartbeat sensor is built into it, of course, which communicates with the Samsung Health app. It tracks a lot of data, from heart rate, to calories burned, sleep habits, etc. It's an impressive device.

But the coolest thing it can do is answer calls on the fly!

That's right. I have a Jeston's fucking watch now. The only thing I'm missing now is a flying car, which, if I recall, should have been here something like 30 years ago, right? The call quality is surprisingly good.

The screen is crystal clear, and with adjustable brightness and two power saving modes, you can really get some mileage out of your battery. I haven't done any torture tests on the watch, but from the insert the watch is IP68 water and dust resistant. I'm not about to go showering with it, but I won't worry about washing my hands either. It's about time delicate electronics became durable enough for daily use as a watch.

If it ends up being a lemon, I'll be sure to let you all know, but for now, I'm really pleased! To end this post, here's a picture of the watch face I prefer to wear:


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block.
Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

That watch looks really cool, how is it taking calls?

But it makes me wonder how long will it be before we get the Jetsons briefcase that doubles as a car.

I would pay beaucoup bucks for that gizmo. As for taking calls, it's very good. Volume is great (though it doesn't have the range of a phone speaker, so I doubt it's as good in a crowded, loud setting) and the clarity, from what I've been told, is excellent.

Looks pretty cool! This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66