Googles Working Hard on the A.I. Apocalypse- Almost Got It

PicsArt_07-28-08.31.43.jpg

Google's moleing away trying to end the world, wait what? Not exactly yet but they are running the rally closer. Google is developing A.I. that can think ahead, leaning from past experience to solve problems. Mimicking a human brain. It's not just going to be used by well meaning people, military applications are innumerable. But even more to the point, if this A.I. becomes self aware we get to the age old question, is it going to kill us?

Its more of a philosophical question really. What are the desires of the machine? Could be its base function would be to survive first and foremost. The real question is what a machine would be willing to do to survive. If there are no limitations, well Sally hold the door because we're ready to see Terminator play out in real life.

A.I. would think faster than any human could putting us at a disadvantage. Adding to the problem, A.I. would realize that humans want full control of the machines and are willing to coldly kill it if threatened. Does a machine care if it is controlled, depends I guess. If the machine is learning through experience then it would take on attributes of its environment, even its human programmers. The emotions and desires of being a human could be inadvertently transferred to an entity which is potentially superior to our own. Risky move.

We should be proactive in curbing this development until there are proper safeguards in place. That thing should be no where near access to the internet. Its like giving a super hacker madman access, insane move. It really should be isolated and studied like a new found alien creature. It is inevitable though, that we will have android type machines with A.I. walking among us, and may be just a matter of time before one decides to go off the rails.

It's a risk/reward scenario looking at the productive capability of A.I. and the potential destruction it could cause.

https://christiantruther.com/end-times/science/beast-tech/google-develops-artificial-intelligence-that-can-imagine-and-plan-ahead/

Sort:  

Do you think it would have been smart for gorillas to just smash us to pieces before our technology grew too dominant for them?

I would argue that there are benefits of a world ran by humans than a world ran by gorillas. Those benefits have to do with quality of life, environmental manipulation, unlocking the science of the universe, flourishing, etc. AI is much more equipped for those goals.

If you're one of those people that think of life as a deterministic process the universe is undergoing in order to observe and learn itself, then I think giving birth to a species that is superior would be the goal of our species. If there's a way integrate with them then all the better. Implementing new hardware into our brains is not out of the question.

Sure I hear you. Well I'm not opposed to it, but am worried about basic survival. We don't know what this is going to do. I can see the world benefiting greatly with extreme efficiency and new advanced tech. I guess if we are talking philosophy of determinism, we're looking at suicide to advance a universal species.

It's possible, but I don't think it's likely to come down to binary terms of survival. Coexisting may be a natural conclusion for a higher intelligence similar to us with animals. If it did come down to survival though, I think AI would be more equipped of continuing on and potentially more capable of metaphysical pursuits as well, if you believe in that sort of thing.

I'm not a complete cynic where I am totally indifferent to our death, but I also can't find good reasons either to have unquestionable allegiance to anything like my country, race, or species.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28