What is Windows Mixed Reality (VR/AR) Really Like? The Next Generation of VR, or a Doomed Gimmick?

in #technology7 years ago

Yes, that's me flailing motion controllers about in a public place with a VR headset on. My shame gland was surgically removed many years ago, so it's fine. There was a Windows kiosk set up in the local mall which I've been stopping by more frequently now that they have EV chargers.

The display was ostentatious, as expected from a company desperately trying to remain relevant. "Look at me! Remember me? Microsoft? I made the OS on your computer! Why didn't you buy a Windows phone? Why is Xbox One failing? The youth of today wants VR, is that it? Or AR? What about both at the same time?? We're still hip, don't forget we exist!!"

The "mixed reality" bit is a marketing term that seems to mean VR with a blend of AR-like features. Inside-out tracking (which requires no external sensors whatsoever, unlike the Oculus 'Constellation' system or the HTC Vive's 'Lighthouse'." I couldn't see in practice how it was much different, except for the inside out tracking which was extremely impressive and works shockingly well.

I tried the Lenovo headset. It fastens to your head in much the same way as the PSVR, very comfortable and easy to put on or remove. It also doesn't touch my head socket(!) which is a big problem with the Rift CV1 I currently have. I am tempted but have bought so much Oculus content that I don't want to jump ecosystems this late in the game.

The lack of content stuck out like a sore thumb. There was a Halo themed "experience" where, despite being in VR, I shot at 2D targets on a big flat 2D screen in the game environment. Why? Why put me in VR to play what amounts to a 2D game?

Then there was Hello Mars, ported from the Gear VR as evidenced by the fact that the instructions still depict the Gear VR pointer. The impression I get is that Microsoft, once again late to the game, wants to establish the standard for VR...only, they haven't got the content they need to do it.

Oculus is the king of VR content right now, followed by Sony, then Vive, then the Gear VR and Daydream mobile VR platforms. Microsoft has done us a service in pushing for the standardization of inside out tracking for its "mixed reality" platform but other than that, there wasn't anything too special about it.

Mostly I came away dreading the certain knowledge that Oculus CV2 must surely be on the way, and will without a doubt utilize inside-out tracking. Sorry everybody who drilled holes in their walls/ceiling to mount sensor cameras! That will imminently be obsolete.

The controllers were basically a hybrid between Touch and the Vive wands which had rings of glowing LEDs so that the cameras on the headset itself(!) could track their positions. An ingenious solution as you don't need the game to know where your hands are unless you're looking at them anyhow.

The field of view was unimpressive. The resolution was a slight bump but SDE was more noticeable. I'm flat out refusing to upgrade until there's a headset with substantially improved resolution, substantially improved field of vision, and inside-out tracking all in the same device.

Until then I'll continue rocking my soon to be out of date CV1, though I must admit that this brief glimpse of the near future of VR has given me an appetite for the improvements soon to arrive.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

By using VR we can get the best experience of gaming that's made us feel like we are in real life
It's worth my money i spend in VR gaming.
Nyc post again

@alexbeyman,
Actually I didn't aware about this before! It seems a very interesting thing and hope to do a little research on it! I hope it might be an awesome experience! But I never had this experience before!

Cheers~

Wow this is cool. never got the chance to use some of this new devices.
Hopefully someday i will. I am beginning to think i am living behind technology. Thanks for sharing this. It's really helpful :)

Wow these are awsome. I hope i get a chance to use these technologies at least once. Looking all these we can probably say how technology is being developed so rapidly.

VR is definitely something I need to get into, or at least learn more about. Looking forward to more VR related posts. :)

I am going to make a prediction. Microsoft will buy out something we all love dearly and looking forward to. Just so they can get to the head of the game. Some times I can still hear my friends cry when they found out Halo was no longer going to be exclusively apple.

Did you collect their tears to savor at a later date? Can I buy some from you?

oh I lived lavishly off my friends tears. No more to sell. I have no saving impulse. I live like a hog high on the hog.

@alexbeyman,

Enjoyed your post.

Salutations. I am JaiChai. Delighted to make your acquaintance.

RE: Your Post

While reading your post, I immediately remembered playing with some prototypes a couple/few years ago. They were much bulkier than now, but it still was amazing!

These devices will definitely be the iPhone Killer.

I'd love to use them to experience Mars someday.

BTW, you'll probably like this:

https://steemit.com/technology/@jaichai/a-better-name-for-the-next-generation-technology

Upvoted and following you now.

Namaste,

JaiChai

This post has received a 100% upvote worth $0.08 from @minnowspower thanks to: @theguruasia

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!
(Limited Service Offer) Send 0.01 SBD and get $0.025 - $0.03 worth upvote from @MinnowsPower

@alexbeyman - Alex, after reading your posts, I understood little about VR technology & it was a new thing for me...... Now microsoft behind it means we can see a huge improvement of this wonderful technology in coming years.... Nice you decided to share your experience....
To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66