Volt Heated Slippers: The Battery Heated Slipper You Can Wear as a Shoe

in #technology7 years ago

Heated footwear has been a long time coming for me. I mean shit, everything else I have is heated. But only now that we're into winter proper have my feet begun losing enough heat into the ground that I felt it was worth it to go all the way.

I've had some heated boots before. They were awful. The batteries were non-removable so when they died 3 years later, the boots just became...regular boots. I know better now and wouldn't buy anything with a non-removable battery.

But also, I hike in the Summer, so heated boots were never a terribly good idea. What I really need is something easier to slip on and off which will keep my feets cozy at the computer, walking to my car, stuff like that.

3V, the company which makes these slippers, specifically advertises they can be used for "light outdoor duty". In other words while out on the deck grilling, or taking out the trash, or between your home and car. Not for hiking obviously but they're made of water resistant material and have thick rubber soles.

My one concern was the battery. At a paltry 2,000 mah I feared it wouldn't run long enough to be of any real use. It's also proprietary, which I hate. But no competitor offers footwear heated by 18650s, so I buckled and bought a pair of Volts.

To my surprise, they last quite long. Because they are so well insulated, they do a good job of trapping the heat generated by the soles. This means while I need to set them to high in order to bring them up to temperature quickly, I can turn them down to low after that and they'll last a little over 5 hours.

The temperature adjustment is performed using an included keychain remote. This is a cool feature as it saves you from kneeling and having to fish around inside the battery pocket of each slipper to turn them on/off or adjust the temp.

However, it also means if you want to buy a second set of batteries (as I did) so you can battery swap, it will come with its own remote. That complicates things somewhat. I am normally against having wearables be controlled by an app on your phone, but in this case it wouldn't be a bad idea.

Anyways there's not much more to say. Build quality is good. $149 was a little steep, but I've found that when they are well made and deliver on their promises, heated garments are the kind of investment you never regret in the long run.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Pretty much all you need now is a heated codpiece and you're good to go.

You're giving me ideas

@alexbeyman,
Hey dude, I need to cool my pants and slippers! Any suggestion! To my country, it's too much warm now a days :/ How could you find those gadgets?

Cheers~

Strip down, or dip your clothes in cool water. :p

@alexbeyman,
Lol man :D

Cheers~

I haven't heard about it before that there is something like that we can have for winter. It is a great idea. in my opinion this is best suitable when we are working on computer. i feel its requirement for me.
Thanks for sharing new idea's and gadget all the time.

O wow. Gimme some o that.

@alexbeyman = the king of heated apparel.

This is what scientists are working for.
This is our future!

Next-gen fashion of the shoe!
In the previous century, we had the shoe on the wall. But now we actually have a heated shoe. And it looks fancy!
Oh i thought this orange thingy was Trezor. Why do I keep seeing Trezor everywhere, strange.

normally against having wearables be controlled by an app on your phone

Why are you? I hate having a thousand different remotes for 10 thousand different things. Yes that's right, I lose a lot lol.

Because most heated garments are simply operated by a button on the garment itself. If it's app operated then what happens when the company folds, stops updating the app, and you get a new phone with a new version of Android which no longer supports that app?

Dude you must be the warmest human around. Those and your jacket and im guessing you have more other than that. Id love a set for winter but $149 might be a bit pricey for me.

I mean I’d pay that much if I know it’s going to keep my warm , winter is not really my favorite season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53